iMac or Mac Pro for R3dcode Editing?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by themomopan, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #1
    Yeah...So I just recently bought a Red Scarlet, and I was wondering if iMacs are capable enough to edit R3D Files. Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    brock2621

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    Of course, just get an SSD and an editor that reads them (final cut pro x, premiere, avid).
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #3
    Don't know much about RED stuff, but if you do get it and it struggles, you can get a Sonnet Echo Express SE Thunderbolt PCIe Expansion Chassis and put a RED Rocket into it - http://www.sonnettech.com/product/echoexpressse.html

    At least...I think I saw a video with it...

    Edit: Just searched RED Rocket. It's expensive :eek:
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    You are using a Red Scarlet for video capture and are looking at an iMac :confused:

    Something does not come into focus in this scenario for me.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #5
    Ideally for .r3d, you would have a top end 12 core Mac Pro or PC workstation with a RED Rocket card. If you have the money, there's no reason not to do that.

    The iMac would be a second choice, and would probably handle small projects relatively well, though.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #6
    Hmmm. Should I wait for the new Mac Pro to come out then or get the old one???
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #7
    I think that it just depends if you can/feel like waiting or not. If you can wait, I would wait for the update, since the current models are a rather poor value. Of course, with Apple, you never know when it'll actually be released...
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    brock2621

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    I guess I should clarify a tad, if you are just wanting to edit, it will be fine. Do all your editing in proxies and reconnect full 4k to export. If you are doing motion graphics in 4k (After Effects, Nuke, C4D, Maya, Lightwave, etc.), I would say go buy a dell/hp 16 core workstation with a red rocket and an nvidia quaddro fx card.

    I'm actually a little surprised you dropped 15k+ on a camera before researching what you need to use it ;P I guess I'm being a little stereotypical as most of my colleagues who own equipment are pretty huge geeks and sorta feel they go hand in hand.

    Anyways, I just got done shooting a project with a scarlet last week! They are awesome awesome cameras, congrats!
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #9
    Hahaha. Originally bought the camera to rent it out only, not to mention I was planning to get the iMac. Wasn't thinking much. Might call it an impulsive buy...maybe:) Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page