iMac or Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by halfprep455, Mar 9, 2007.

1. halfprep455 macrumors regular

Feb 17, 2007
    Maryland USA
    Im fairly new to macs and about 3 weeks ago, I got a used B&W for free. I really like macs alot and I need to upgrade. I am going to do medium video editing and photoshopping. I dont know if an iMac will be enough but I also dont know if I really need to buy a mac pro. Would an iMac probably be enough? Also, I get a little wiery of all in one computers.
  2. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

Jan 25, 2002
    Orange County, CA
    I'm pretty sure the iMac will be enough. What programs do you use for video editing? If you get the iMac, you'll want to also get an external hard drive to use as a scratch disk/system backup. The iMac 24" is probably the model to look at.

You don't say what monitor you are using with the B&W, but if you already have a monitor with a DVI input, you might also look at the lower end Mac Pro.
  3. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

Mar 21, 2006

I should note that I'm also against an Imac personally becuase I like to do lots of my own work on my computers, but do recomend them for others.

You do this for a living Multimedia right? I dont think this guy needs two screens or all that horse power.

If this confuses you I really am talking into the future.
  4. Multimedia macrumors 603

Jul 27, 2001
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    Mac Pro

$2200 Refurb 2.66GHz Mac Pro will let you have two or more big displays and be a much better Video Editing & Photoshop platform. When you start rendering and compressing video you'll be glad you've got the extra power for only few hundred extra. I do this with a Quad G5 and it's not powerful enough. If you've got money to spare, 8 core Mac Pro is coming up. But you need to have a $5,000 expectation to get into that ultimate power level for 2007.