iMac Question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by fivetoadsloth, Dec 19, 2006.

  1. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #1
    Hey I read somewhere that the imacs processor is a notebook processor, or at least some component of the the iMac is. Can someonelink me or verify this? Thanks alot.
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Yes, it uses the Core 2 Duo processor, which was designed with notebooks in mind. However, it's a powerful chip and more than adequate enough for a consumer desktop. It's not so much a "notebook processor" as it is a "processor ideal for notebooks - as well as desktops".

    The iMacs are very much like notebooks with an LCD attached, but not in all ways. The GPUs and hard drives, for example, are better.
     
  3. fivetoadsloth thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #3
    Ok thanks alot, that answered my question. I read it somewhere and a friend was wondering and i couldnt find anything online to link him to. Thanks again.
     
  4. iancapable macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #4
    The GPU is a notebook GPU in the iMac
     
  5. reflex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    To summarize:
    1. the iMac's cpu is the notebook version of the Core 2 Duo
    2. the gpu is a notebook version as well
     
  6. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    NO.

    1. The Core 2 Duo IS a notebook processor, and was designed for notebook architechture. Why use a notebook processor in a desktop? It's small.

    2. The GPU is a notebook GPU.
     
  7. iancapable macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #7
    I'm not sure the C2D is specifically a notebook processor, it might work for both.
     
  8. twentyone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #8
    The Core2 comes in notebook and desktop variants. It is not exclusively notebook or desktop. They are actually quite different too.

    Merom, the notebook version, and Conroe, the desktop version.

    Merom is said to be 28% faster than it's Core Duo counterpart (Yonah), while Conroe is said to be 40% faster than it's (not sure).
     
  9. aspro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    #9
    I don't believe the Core Duo had a desktop variant, so the Conroe speed comparison was probably against the same Core Duo as the Merom.
     
  10. tsvb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #10
    Either way the new intel iMacs are snappy as hell. :)
     
  11. Mr MacBlue macrumors newbie

    Mr MacBlue

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    #11
    Indeed.
     
  12. dirtleg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #12
    This seems like an appropriate thread for this question.

    We are looking into upgrading our computer from a G3 iMac to a new Intel iMac (probably 20", the 24" is a monster). My question has to do with gaming. I realize the iMac is not a gamer for the gaming gear-heads, but will it be adequate for my daughter to run stuff like The Sims and such? We are not big time gamers, but we occasionally like things like that. Also, will I get good results from video streaming on line, like YouTube and news video? (I have a DSL connection at home)

    Also, would it be worth the money for the GPU upgrade when we order?

    Thanks in advance for any responses. ;)
     
  13. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #13

    for the youtube and video streaming use, the imac will be great, even without the upgrade, in fact even for the game you mention, the normal imac would probably by fine. however the problem with the sims in particular is that it has to run under rosetta, which i am told makes it lag (i haven't seen this myself). the upgrade however is not too expensive, and for future gaming, would most likely be very useful.
     
  14. dirtleg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #14
    Thanks.

    One more thing. If we use bootleg and load windows, would games that are not universal run better than under OSX? I am still debating with myself about the need to load windows on my new Mac.
     

Share This Page