iMac RAM in a MacBook?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sinecurea, Mar 14, 2007.

  1. sinecurea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #1
    Hi Folks,
    I've just got a 24" iMac. I've upgraded my RAM to 2Gb, leaving me with 2 x 512Mb sticks of DDR2 PC2-5300.
    Am I correct in saying that the RAM straight out of the iMac can be used in a Single Duo 1.83 MacBook, bearing in mind that it has the same DDR, speed, etc and is the same size?

    Cheers,
    S.
     
  2. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #2
    I don't think so. Don't hold me to it, but I think PHYSICALLY they are different sizes and they are not the same slots.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Yes, The 667MHz (PC2-5300) 512 and 1 Gb SODIMMs can be used interchangeably between all Intel Macs (except the MacPro and Xserve, of course).

    OTOH there is no RAM that is common to the G4/G5 series and the intel series.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  4. BigPrince macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
  5. sinecurea thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #5
    Thanks BigPrince and CanadaRAM.
    I knew they are the same size physically.
    When I was looking to get iMac RAM, is was surprised to find that it was the same as laptop RAM, but I guess it makes sense, considering the size of the machine.

    Can I just get a second option on the speed and DIMM compatibility please?
    Has anybody actualy interchanged them before?

    Cheers,
    S.
     
  6. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    well, this is what CanadaRAM does for a living, so you can trust him on this one. :)

    But, if it makes you feel better: I've interchanged several sticks of RAM between an intel imac and macbook, and every stick works perfectly in both machines.
     
  7. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #7
    I was hoping this was the case.
    I've just bought 2GB RAM and was hoping to put my old ram into my Dad's macbook.

    I was sure it would work but its still good to get extra confirmation from CanadaRam.
     
  8. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #8
    Yes, they are the exact same type of memory. The Intel iMac and MacBooks and MacBook Pros AND Intel minis all use DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) SODIMM (that means laptop formfactor, 200 pin) memory modules. They are all exactly the same.

    Just in case you wanted one more confirmation ;)
     
  9. AndyR macrumors 6502a

    AndyR

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #9
    Yeah I've swapped ram between my iMac and MacBook a couple of times now.
     

Share This Page