iMAC ram slots

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by dualburn001, Feb 23, 2002.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    #1
    I understand that the new imac has 2 slots for ram but are both of them accesibile or only the 144 pin one? Because I want to buy an imac from macmall and jsust get 256 mb of ram free but in the future iI would want to upgrade to 1gb of ram so i was wondering if both slots are accesible. Thanks in advance for the help.



    Dualburn001
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #2
    iMac RAM slots

    From what I have read, only one slot is user accessible. If you want to change the RAM in the other slot you must take it to an "authorized" service provider. If you want a gig of RAM in the future you will either have to BTO with one 512MB stick from Apple or pay someone to change out the upper slot later.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    #3
    both ram slots on the new imac are reachable. One is located near the slot for the airport card, underneath the removable plate. To get to the other slot you will have to remove the torx screws and open the bottom of the computer. It opens up like a door hinged on one side. However when you put the bottom of the computer back together you will need thermal paste to apply to a small metal area (near the hinges) before closing the imac, be sure to clean area before application. Then you will need a torx wrench to close and tighten the bottom housing, and you will be good to go and change the ram in both slots.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #4
    Doesn't doing this yourself void the warranty?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #5
    actually, the new imacs (and the previous version i believe (except the early rev.)) have both ram slots available from the back, but one is filled up. You can just pull the OEM chip and install two 512 if you want.

    -Pete
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #6
    pt: wrong.

    spinner: yup

    fuzzy: true but this is hardly easy compared to normal ram installations. few people have torx screw drivers and buying and applying thermal paste is a pain. in addition you void the warranty as spinner mentioned. basiclly this is a bad idea for anyone but the experienced user and since this guy is asking i doubt he is experienced. maybe you could do this and i could do this but most people wouldnt want to.

    spinner's plan is the best. use a bto to get a 512mb in the unaccessible slot or just accept that you will have to pay someone later to do something as simple as install ram.
     

Share This Page