iMac Ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by seabass069, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. seabass069 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #1
    I just bought a new iMac G5 (w/isight). Can I use any 533MHz DDR2 SDRAM in the machine, or does have to be iMac specific RAM?
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    You can install any 533 MHz DDR-2 DIMM which does not have heat spreaders (those aluminum 'covers' on the RAM module - they make the module physically incompatible).

    Whether they will work or not depends whether the manufacturer has set all of the SPD values correctly. How can you tell? When it doesn't work. There is no outward sign for compatible and not compatible.

    If you don't want to do your own testing, then purchase from a reputable vendor who tests and guarantees compatiblility with your model Mac, offers a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #3
  4. goormart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Netherlands, Utrecht
    #4
    original memory brand

    What is the brand of the memory which Apple puts in their Intel imacs? Thanks
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    It varies. Samsung, Hynix, Micron are the top 3.
     
  6. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #6
    Yeah, every Mac I've had has been Hynix.
     

Share This Page