iMac Rev A wont boot(kinda)

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by zap2, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #1
    Hello!

    My iMac G5(rev A it did have that common fault that lots of iMac G5 Rec As did(with the smoke smell and yello puse on the inside) but was fixed by Apple

    So i was using handbreak to rip some DVDs to my Mac. I also had QemuX to try and get XP and Linux on it.(never worked). I left to go to a party and left handbreak on ,ripping a DVD(it worked) and i think i left QemuX running but im not sure. So i came home and wake my iMac up. BAM it shuts down. I'm think "werid but a reboot should fix it" so i reboot. It gets to the grey Apple screen and BAM crashes agian. I keep trying each time i get to different places sometime to the web sometime does not even get to the blue backround with " Mac OSX starting up"

    So now i have no idea what to do? So went to MR for help.

    So think it hardware or software or BOTH? should i go to Apple Store and have them check it out? Anyy ideas?
     
  2. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #2
    weird it almost sounds like it is the power supply. Or a lose power cord, make sure its plugged the whole way into the wall. Is your area know to have brown outs? Try resetting the PRAM also.
     
  3. zap2 thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #3
    whats PRAM? hwo do you reset it?(do you need to be able to get to the main screen?)
     
  4. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #4
    I would try resetting PRAM.
    Then boot from an external Firewire Hard Drive or from your Install/Utility Disk (came with your iMac) and verify/repair the hard drive from within disk utility (or diskwarrior, techtool pro, techtool deluxe if you have the AppleCare disk).
     
  5. zap2 thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #5
    TRY TO REset PRAM but i dont know if it worked becuz my iMac wont but from CD either. it gets to the grey screen with spinning "gear thing" and then goes back to a black screen(keeps doing it over and over) sometime it does not get tto a spinning "gear'':(
     
  6. zap2 thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #6
    SO i think it might be a HardWare thing becuz its not booting ,even from Live CD.

    Good thing i got my AppleCare:)
     
  7. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Sounds like you were trying to do some illegal/not supported by Apple type of things there. I'd do whatever it takes to get that HD to apple then they fix it or request that it's a lemon and want a rev. b+. :)
     
  8. zap2 thread starter macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #8
    Nothing illegal(cuz ripping store bought DVDs to your Mac is legal cuz Apple sells Quicktime Pro which does the same thing as HandBreak)

    Ya im going down there 26th or would it be better to go know(or 24)
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Regardless of whether you're doing something illegal or not, the system shouldn't fail like that. Get it AppleCared.
     

Share This Page