iMac vs. MacPro for composer

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mattiger18, Dec 28, 2006.

  1. mattiger18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    I've been a logic user for about six months, and just purchased the East West symphony gold pack and expansion pack. I currently have a G4 Powerbook 1.8 Ghz w/ 1GB of RAM, and I was told at a mac store that that's not really enough to handle the power of East/West. Also, I already push the limits of Logic with the stuff I do now. I'm planning on doing some more orchestral work now, so I think I'll have to use even more power.

    I'm looking into buying a 20 inch iMac and upgrading the Ram to 2 GB and upgrading from 250 to 500 GB on the hard drive. The processor speed is dual core 2.16 Ghz. This I could get for 2000. I could also get the MacPro, which has two dual core processors at a speed of 2.66 Ghz, upgrade to 2 GB Ram, and get the same hard drive. But, even without a display, that's about 3300. Is it worth that much money to get the MacPro? Do I need that much power, or will the iMac be fine? I want to get something I won't have to upgrade for a while, and use for a long time. I know the MacPro is more upgradable, so maybe is that the better investment? I'm not a Mac expert by any means, but hopefully there are some out there that can set me straight! The guy at the store says the iMac should be plenty. Let me know what you guys think...thanks!
     
  2. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #2
    mac pro
     
  3. theblotted macrumors regular

    theblotted

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    ditto
     
  4. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #4
    Yep, MacPro all the way! iMac is fast, really fast, but the MacPro is insane. It'll allow you to keep working to no limits, no need to bounce down tracks. :)
     
  5. adamyoshida macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #5
    Remember - you'll need a display, more ram, and so forth for the Mac Pro.

    You could get a decently-outfitted iMac for less than half the cost of the Mac Pro.

    Go for the iMac.
     
  6. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #6
    Yes definatly the mac pro, and fairly soon theyll get bumped, at least 2 gig ram standard. Itll ,fly or, i should say, Sing.

    Good luck. :)
     
  7. Jay42 macrumors 65816

    Jay42

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    #7
    Put it this way, you could probably afford to upgrade an iMac at least twice as often compared with the MacPro. But if you want maximum performance now that will probably keep you satisfied for ~4 years or so, get the MacPro :D
     
  8. BenHoleton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #8
    Either one will work for what you want. I would max out the imac ram, though
     

Share This Page