iMac wireless issuses

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iancapable, Feb 10, 2007.

  1. iancapable macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #1
    I'm a bit annoyed at the moment... I'm quite happy using my iMac on my wireless lan although it's very slow... I've got a 54MB router and I only get 4MB at the most... I have another machine that gets 36 no problem...

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Change wireless channels.

    But 4mb is still gonna be faster than your connection speed to the internet, isn't it? So it won't make a whole load of difference.
     
  3. iancapable thread starter macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #3
    LOL I have a 24MB DLS line and I'm connected to it at 15MB... So no my connection to my router is pathetic. I can't copy files at a reasonable speed to my server either.

    Changing channel doesn't seem to work. I mucked about for a while, at the moment my peak speed is 460kb (kilobytes) a second but it should be something like 1.6mb (megabytes) a sec.
     
  4. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    OK. So what about distance? How far is the mac away from the router? Is there a 3ft thick concrete wall between them? Or a lead coffin or something?
     
  5. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I only get 4 of 5 bars on my Airport icon in the bar at the top even though my Linksys G router is 8 feet away from my iMac even though my MacBook gets all 5 bars from anywhere in my apartment, even through concrete wall. I am hoping that the Airport Extreme N will change the iMac's rather pathetic reception. FWIW, it is a C2D iMac.
     
  6. r-sparks macrumors 6502

    r-sparks

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Ditto

    Same here. My 3Com router is around one metre away from the iMac and I get three out of four bars on the Airport icon. That's just bizarre. If I look at the signal strength under Internet Connect, it's around 50%. My iBook G4, one floor below, gets four out of four bars.

    Something is wrong with iMac Airports. My machine is a 20in Dual Core machine. I now use an Ethernet cable connection. (Yes, OS X is fully updated.)
     
  7. iancapable thread starter macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #7
    heheh nope. It's downstairs but it's only about 10-15 ft away :( and it's not like they make houses here in the uk out of concrete either!
     
  8. charmin macrumors member

    charmin

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Location:
    W. London
    #8
    Bumpety bump.

    I'm thinking that this might be a hardware issue.

    I have my 24" iMac (N-enabled) right next to my PB G4. The router is about 8 feet away, with one wall between the computers and the router.

    In Internet Connect, the PB gets full signal. The iMac gets 5 bars (1/3rd signal). This is affecting my speed so much that an ADSL speedtest run from the iMac shows my connection speed as 1.3MB/s when I know I have a 2MB/s connection.

    I know the lid of my PB is basically a huge aerial, but there shouldn't be so much difference in signal strength.

    Hoping someone will be able to shed some light on this.

    Edit: The Apple Discussions are SWARMING with this problem, and Apple are ignoring it like they usually do. If anyone has this problem, please go and make yourself heard, and contact them through their iMac Feedback page:

    http://www.apple.com/feedback/imac.html
     
  9. kixsand macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    I just did a speedtest at www.speedtest.net and my download speed was 4200 kbps.

    What does that mean?

    Fast, slow, inbetween.

    darren
     
  10. kixsand macrumors regular

    kixsand

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    Answered my own question...found another site that compares your results with all the others it has benchmarked and then ranks you against other results from you own provider and shows you how you stack up against all the other providers it has tested...kind of interesting really.

    On this site I came in at 4400 kbps which was 17% better and good for about #16 on their list of fastest average performance measured from providers. There were some fiber providers at the top of the list with download speeds of 8900 kbps...that must rock!

    Darren
     
  11. wizwaz3 macrumors 6502a

    wizwaz3

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    #11
    I did speedtest and I got what I normally get, but my airport card gets only 3 of 4 bars. The router is only 10 ft away w/ two walls, but even when I had it set up behind the iMac, it was still 3 of 4...
     
  12. iancapable thread starter macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #12
    Yeah... I am now considering sending my iMac back (although I'm wired at the moment). Obviously I'm going to wait until they release new hardware, I will return it for cash and may buy a new one.
     
  13. itsme92 Guest

    #13
    Holy crap, I did the speedtest thing on my Macbook off a Linksys Wireless-G router and Comcast High-Speed Internet (the slower of the two packages they offer). I got 17500 kps. (!!) Now, on my Dell desktop (with a wireless-b adapter, I "only" got 4000kps. Mabye I should put a G-adaptor on my Dell.
     

Share This Page