Imac + wireless network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by staka69, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. staka69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #1
    Hello, I bought an 20" Intel iMac back when they first came out (February?) and could not get it to connect to my wireless router, so I just used a cable, no big deal.

    My cousin next door (with whom I share the internet connection) uses a ibook G4, and that connects to the wireless network no problem.

    Any idea why the G4 ibook connects but my Intel Imac does not?

    Not a big deal, but I might want to use it at some point just to eliminate the clutter of cables.
     
  2. Sobering macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Did you set everything up correct? I dono but my new iMac works fine with my wireless. In fact as soon as I unplugged my cable a popup came and asked me if I wanted to join my wireless network. ;)
     
  3. staka69 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #3
    I did

    Yeah my Imac tried/tries to connect to the wireless network but then comes up with an error, I'm not at home now so I can't see what the exact message is.
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    Is you wireless network secured in any way? Does it show up under the Airport icon in your menu bar?
     
  5. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #5
    You might have to add the MAC address of the iMac to the router configuration for it to be usable.
     
  6. staka69 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #6
    I will have to try the mac address suggestion when I get home later today.

    I just saw a similar thread a few lines below mine.
     
  7. Sobering macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I never did :eek:
     
  8. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #8
    Depends on the router and how it's been configured.
     
  9. wisredz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    #9
    i didn't have any problems with my wireless. The iMac connected to the router out of the box. didn't do anything myself. Using USR9106, which I wouldn't recommend.
     

Share This Page