Image Capture?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wattage, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. wattage macrumors 6502

    wattage

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #1
    How oh how do you guys post screen shots from your computer? I'm sure this is an easy trick everyone but me knows about. Do you use image capture, if so how?????
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Take a look at Grab.app (in your Utilities Folder). If you want something more advanced Snapz Pro seems to be well liked, although I don't use it.
     
  3. dogsbody macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    #3
    Some Keyboard Shortcuts for Screenshots

    Hi,

    Use Shift + Apple + 3 to do the whole screen, Shift + Apple + 4 to get a little cross-hair so you can pick a part of the screen, or Shift + Apple + 4 then press space bar to get a little camera icon that you can click on any active window to get a shot of that.

    I think that's right....go to help and search for 'shortcuts' to find out!

    Regards,

    Dogsbody.
     
  4. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #4
    Grab is great and should meet all your needs.
    It allows for window, screen or selection shots.

    It saves them as tiff files... which I save to my desktop.
    Double cliking them, or opening them in Preview, then allows you to save them as jpg or other file types.

    Preview also allows you to compress images to different quality / file size really easily to get them under any max file size that some forums have.
     
  5. wattage thread starter macrumors 6502

    wattage

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #5
    Exxxxccccellent (Mr. Burns tenting fingers). One more question, how do you compress them??
     
  6. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #6
    compressing in Preview is easy...

    after you have selected jpg there will be a sliding scale.
    right hand side is best quality (large file size)... left is worse quality (small file)...
    I never have gone past the middle though when doing screen shots of forums... three quarters of the way along works well for me.

    Have a play - with the tiff file on your desktop - you can save as jpg at the best quality... then check the file size via the apple + I.
    Then just slowly move it to the left until you have a file size or quality image you are happy with.
     
  7. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #7
    You can also download Tinkertool which will let you change the way that screenshots are captured with Cmd+Shift+4 it annoyed me that they were set to pdf as default as I had to open them in another program, but thanks to tinkertool I could say goodbye to washday worries.
     
  8. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #8
    Is there anything like the shift 3 & 4 for the PC? just curious.
     
  9. dogsbody macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    Channel Islands
    #9
    Only the 'Print Scrn' button - which captures the whole screen and using 'Alt' + 'Print Scrn' which captures the active window.
     
  10. wattage thread starter macrumors 6502

    wattage

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #10
    I thank you for all of your help. Now I can look like I know what I'm doing.
     
  11. MacRumoron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    #11
    just go to http://www.macupdate.com and search "screen capture" or something similar, there are many apps that do this kind of stuff :p
     

Share This Page