Resolved iMessage needs time to be activated?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by daihard, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. daihard, Oct 14, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    Hi.

    I just activated my wife's 4S. Everything went smoothly except that iMessage does not always work correctly. She can send an iMessage to me, both at my iPhone number and e-mail address. However, I cannot send her one at her iPhone number. I _am_ able to use her e-mail address, though.

    So the only problem seems to be that she can't receive an iMessage at her phone number. I checked the Messages settings to make sure iMessage is enabled. Her phone number shows up under "Receive At."

    Does it just take time for iMessage to be activated? Mine has been active for a while (since Beta) so I can't compare my settings with hers.

    TIA!
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    I have exactly the same situation. She can iMessage me at my phone number but I can only iMessage her at her email. Her phone number still gives the green send button
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #3
    i have this same problem for a few contacts, girlfriends phone picks up any imessage users from phone numbers mine only from email. both phones settings are exactly the same
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Thanks guys. Kinda good to know I'm not alone, though the best scenario would be that the problem will be solved for all of us soon.

    If this persists through the end of the day, I will take her phone to Genius tomorrow.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    josielinnea

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Location:
    Stockholm
    #5
    Check the country chosen under:
    Settings -> Messages -> Receive at -> click "AppleID: xxx" -> Change location.
    This should be set to the correct country so that you're phone can use the correct country-code as prefix for the phone number, even if the number is not written with country code in your phonebook.

    Could it be your wife entered your number to her phonebook as "+1xxxxx" and you've only entered hers as "xxxxx"?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    daihard

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    Thanks for the reply.

    Both our phones have the country code set to United States. Both our phone numbers start with +1 (206) xxx-xxxx.

    Interestingly, iMessage works for her phone number now. They must have taken some time to enable it on her account...
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #7
    It's resolved itself here as well, without any settings being changed. It seems to be just a question of waiting a few hours for the iMessage server to update itself with the phone number.
     

Share This Page