iMovie 3.0.2 out

Discussion in 'New Mac Application Announcements' started by GeeYouEye, Mar 6, 2003.

  1. macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #1
    In your software update.

     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    Hopefully it will be a good update......I am downloading now. :)

    I love Apple updates.

    Edit: Seems pretty good. Now when I click on something, it does it immediatly-no more waiting. It still takes a lot of time to load when launching. I'll accept it; it's a great program anyway.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #3
    "? Macintosh computer with PowerPC G3 or G4 processor (700 MHz or greater G3 recommended)"

    Um, so should I not install this on my G4 533Mhz?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Location:
    Greenvale, NY
    #4
    I hope it works.....

    I had such problems with this app. I really hope they fixed it!
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Of course you should. As I read it, any G4 and only G3s that are 700 MHz or greater should install it. The blurb that came with this update does not specify any minimum G4 speed. Download away!
     
  6. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #6
    Getting it now...

    I'll post an update when it's working. Hopefully there's an on/off key for the Ken Burns effect

    edit: Nope - no on/off
    My wife wants to make a movie for her mom with a mix of video and about 300 or so photos, and the Burns Effect just takes too long on import
     
  7. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #7
    Hey, mudbug,
    there's a way to turn off the Ken Burns effect by editing the preference file, it's been posted lots of times on here. It's not as simple as just clicking a radio button in the preferences, but it works.

    JW
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    New Faster iMovie

    I want an iMovie that doesn't require me to shut down everything else before I run it.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    More like apple goofed when it said iMovie 3 could be used on older compters.

    Um... 700 is alot people, why so high?

    Yes, it means you browse the main page a hell of alot, but please you were like 3 min behind. ;)
     
  10. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #10
    Re: New Faster iMovie

    dont know really what you are talking about. I am using imovie with system prefs, safari, and mail open.

    iJon
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Jaykay

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Damn this is beginning to happen quite a lot.

    Is there a standalone download?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    #12
    WOW! there is a HUGELY VAST difference between .1 and .2 on my machine. First off it took like two bounces to load, then after it loaded things ran smoothly, no jumping around the screen, when i click it goes right when i click no delayed reactions! WOW!

    Thanks apple, good update.

    BTW - I have 15" iMac G4 800Mhz 512 RAM...
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #13
    ....it's getting there!

    Download was only 1.9mb (4.4mb in Software update for some reason!)...very quick and painless process...

    on my iMac (1GHz) it works a treat...would say things are running 2-3 times quicker in terms of just GUI responsiveness (although resizing the window is still evil!)...although i havent tested around any of the bugs yet, I would say that the bump in responsiveness is what i was looking for most and Apple seem to have delivered with that pretty well...shame rendering times are still the same though.

    ...interesting point is that min. spec is now a 700MHz G3...would imply that this is as fast as Apple can maybe get things running and are saying users need at least current spec machines to make any use of iMovie 3...

    ...will see how it works on my 500MHz iBook!

    Obviously still need to have a play...but hats-off to apple at this point for appearing to have delievered on my main criticism of iMovie 3 (and listening to their users and responding very quickly!)

    Swinny
    ---------
    Webmaster // www.iMovie-user.com
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    #14
    Much better

    I am quite pleased with the performance boost!!.. No more delays when wanting to play the video or move play clip head around.. Everyhting is much snappier and much more repsonsive.. this should make many of you very HAppy!! Nice update apple.. I am not sure if it fixed my audio sync problems yet.. I will get back to you on this. GOOD UPDATE APPLE!
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Location:
    nl
    #15
    How come Apple introduced iMovie too soon? They should stop doing that. Release software when it's finished and optimized.

    The fact that they can increase performance so much with a update, shortly after introducing iMovie, is a sign that their quality standards are not very high lately..

    Same thing goes for introducing hardware that takes a long time to appear on the market. (Al17, ati 9700 etc.)
    Introducing all that hardware and software at the same time (twice a year) is not a good strategy I think. If they'd introduce products when they are really finished and available, they would also get more articles in the press. For people unfamiliar with Apple it would seem that Apple is really busy. So much stuff at once is confusing for most of them. They forget about half of it and remember only 1 or 2 good things. I think Apple should spread it out, and deliver when they promise.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #16
    Switching back and forth between clips and timeline views are nice and fllluuuuuuuiiiiidddd.

    WTG Apple!

    P.S. - if it's taking a while to load, you either have a lot of iPhoto photos or iTunes music, as it loads boath databases....

    G4-450, 768mb RAM, Rage 128.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #17
    Re: Getting it now...

    Apple has a way to turn KenBurns off in this Apple Care document, very easy yet effective

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=42986


    :)
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #18
    photo quality in iMovie

    Do you guys have trouble with the picture import quality in iMovie. I have noticed my pictures look great in iPhoto and not near as good in iMovie. What could cause this? Is there a setting that I missed. Thanks.

    thekaiser
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #19
    Re: photo quality in iMovie


    When iMovie is playing the video back it displays it at about 1/4 the resolution of full quality so that the CPU keep up

    Read here for more info

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=24787
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #20
    yep, my ti667 is now officially slow. g3 or g4, 700mhz makes it time to really want that new 17"...
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Location:
    Iceland
    #21
    There are still bugs :(

    When entering titles, I can't enter text that has "þ", "Þ", "ð", "Ð", "ý" or "Ý" in them !

    Meaning.. "Þar býr Snæfríður Íslandssól" shows up blank !

    Very annoying as I can't enter text in my own language !
    :( :(

    Three thumbs down.
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    yzedf

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #22
    software update did not work (twice).

    had to go to www.apple.com/imovie to get it.

    odd...

    still works good though :)
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    #23
    Another way to kill the burns affect.

    Navigate to and open ~Library/Preferences/com.apple.iMovie3.plist (use TextEdit, plist editor doesn't work)
    Locate the entry 'autoApplyPanZoomToImportedStills'
    Then two lines down it says 'true' change this to false
    Save and open iMovie 3

    Now Ken only comes to visit when you want him to. (by hitting the 'apply' button)
     
  24. Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #24
    This is the way I've been looking for. I haven't wanted to turn it off completely forever, and even tho apple tells you to turn them both down to the left, it still takes an extra second to apply. On 413 photos (I finally counted) those seconds add up. Thanks kcmac - you just made my day.

    On the note of performance of .1 to .2, on my pbg4 667, I'd say it's running roughly twice to three times faster on simple instructions (move clip from library to track, import audio, etc...) and startup is only 2 bounces in the dock, compared to the 8 bouces it used to take.

    And one more note - I switched my boss this week (PBG4 800 - he loved mine...) - that means 20% of our office is now on macs, and counting.

    PS - thanks for all the info, guys.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #25
    Updater will not install

    Hello all,

    I saw the story about the update to iMovie, so I fired up the SoftwareUpdater from the System Preferences, but it showed no update. So then I went over to the iMovie page and downloaded it successfully.

    However, when I tried to install the update it said it found no appropriate version to be updated. I currently have 3.01 installed. I keep it in a subfolder of the Applications folder called Apple Software. Thinking this might be the problem I moved the app back out into the main Applications folder, ran the updater again, but it still failed to find an appropriate file to update.

    Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!
     

Share This Page