iMovie 3 on iBook

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Spock, Feb 6, 2003.

  1. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #1
    I just downloaded iMovie 3 and can't use it becouse my display want go 1024*768 is their a way around this??
     
  2. howard macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #2
    you mean your display wants to go up to 1024x768?...whats it at now 800x600? thats huge! you usually would want more desktop space to work with, i'd just keep it in 1024x768...then you can see everything your working with...if somethings really small just press option apple + sign and it will zoom in...if it doesnt go to your system prefs and configure it in your universal access.
     
  3. Spock thread starter macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #3
    No, my video card is not able to display at 1024*768 my top is 800*600.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. howard macrumors 68020

    howard

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    #4
    how kind of computer is this??
    what kind of ibook?
     
  5. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    He probably has one of the older iBooks. Pre-500mhz-iBook.
     
  6. blogo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    #6
    Then iMovie 3 would be too slow to use anyways.
     
  7. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #7
    >Then iMovie 3 would be too slow to use anyways.

    Not true. The "speed" and launch times of iMovie have already been discussed. The more movies/photos on your computer, the longer the launch time.

    I'm in the same boat as Spock with this one. If you have your old iMovie 2 installer (saved compressed file or possibly from your Jaguar CD??) you can go back to iMovie 2. And ftaok's comment is correct about the particular model iBooks with a maximum resolution of 800 by 600. I have one of those.

    Until iMovie is properly adjusted to adopt to 800 x 600 res, there is no way to avoid the situation without hacking into the code for iMovie, or without damaging the application in some form or another.
     
  8. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #8
    I am glad I'm not alone, I have the same problem, poor Lime iBook, oh well iMovie 3 still runs on my G3 MiniTower, plus with my iBook's limited HardDrive space I don't need to edit movies with it, haha...
     
  9. Spock thread starter macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #9
    Yes I am out of luck, thank you for your input.
    I am going to get a DP 1.25 G4 soon anyway. Oh Well.
     

Share This Page