iMovie Editing Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by runninmac, Jun 15, 2006.

  1. runninmac macrumors 65816

    runninmac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rockford MI
    #1
    So I just started trying to spice up my first short video my friends and I made but I don't seem to understand how to chose when a effect comes in and out. I see the sliders for it saying "effect in" and "effect out" but I just don't get what it means. I want an effect to come in 50 seconds into the clip and end 54 seconds into the clip but when I type it in it says "Invalid Time-code". Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    some way of doing this would be ....

    1 clip in main panel X amount in lenght select the desired edit point and click in the video clip and then press Apple key + T to split the clip there then when you want to add the "effect" just press apply to it , for a transition just drag that bad boy over the split cliop and it will render itself there.


    hope that helps
     
  3. bloogersnigen macrumors regular

    bloogersnigen

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Wherever the water flows
  4. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    no if he splits at 50s in the main clip pane , then in the effect start at 0.00 end at 4.00 seconds
     
  5. runninmac thread starter macrumors 65816

    runninmac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rockford MI
    #5
    Thanks im rendering this right now, ill keep it posted on how it turns out:)
     
  6. runninmac thread starter macrumors 65816

    runninmac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rockford MI
    #6
    It got done rendering. I split the clip at 50 and then put the settings to the picture below. But the effect went through the whole clip. Any suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #7
    do an undo to get rif of the bad edit there ,

    make sure you have only selcted the clip from 50 sec onwards and not all of the clip

    put the line over 50 secs on the timeline panel then try again
     

Share This Page