Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bowens

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 19, 2006
Florida
I am new to Macs. I've been wanting one for years and finally purchased one last week. I got the higher end Mac Mini with the Intel Core Duo processor. I know it's not a powerhouse but it's still pretty nice. Anyway, I was doing some video editing using iMovie and used some of the themes. I dropped my first video clip into a drop zone and everything worked perfectly. But after that any other clip I placed in a drop zone magically turned into the first clip. I even tried deleting the first clip totally and still every clip that I put in a drop zone turned to that first clip. I even tried restarting the computer and reopening iMovie. Nothing seemed to work. I can put pictures in the drop zones but if I try a video they always turn into that same clip. Has anybody else ever seen anything like this?

Texas04

macrumors 6502a
Jul 2, 2005
Texas
Make sure you arent splicing clips. Lets say you have your Drop Zones
A B C D

okay and you wish to place clip 1 in A and Clip 1/3 in B. Well Clip 1/3 will automatically start out as clip 1 did. Because it was spliced iMovie takes the clip file and ignores any splicing between clips... really sucks... :(

bowens

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 19, 2006
Florida
Texas04 said:
Make sure you arent splicing clips. Lets say you have your Drop Zones
A B C D

okay and you wish to place clip 1 in A and Clip 1/3 in B. Well Clip 1/3 will automatically start out as clip 1 did. Because it was spliced iMovie takes the clip file and ignores any splicing between clips... really sucks... :(

How do I separate clips then? When I imported my movie it brought it all in as one giant clip. I thought it was supposed to automatically separate it. I'm sure that's the problem because I had to splice the whole thing.

bowens

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 19, 2006
Florida