iMovie HD Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by gangst, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. gangst macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    A friend of mine recently went to America and bought me an upgrade to iLife 05, the only problem is that after inatallation, I opened iMovie HD, and relised everything is set up for NTSC, how can I change these settings to PAL, or at least revert back to ilife 04

    Regards Nick
     
  2. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    Isn't there preferences for setting it as PAL?
     
  3. gangst thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    UK
  4. john1123 macrumors regular

    john1123

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Down Under
    #4
    i believe it is the framerate option in the general preferences:

    29.99 frames/s = NTSC
    25 frames/s = PAL

    but i could be wrong. not sure.
     
  5. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #5
    PAL framrate is not the only thing that makes it different from NTSC, it's interlacing is backwards from NTSC, meaning it does odd lines first then even, or is it the other way around? Either way the interlacing is different, and changing the framerate might not solve all problems . . .

    I am thinking that since you bought the american version, it is NTSC only, you need to buy a UK version to get PAL, but that's just a guess.
     
  6. john1123 macrumors regular

    john1123

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Down Under
    #6
    Apple help unveils the secret

    found it! it's in the imovie apple help:

     
  7. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #7
    That doesn't help if he is capturing PAL footage with NTSC settings. Like I said, the interlacing is different, but if you change the frame rate to 25 you might be ok. If not, you can just deinterlace the footage and hopefully have no troubles. That's if there is even a deinterlace option in iMovie HD.
     
  8. john1123 macrumors regular

    john1123

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Down Under
    #8
    in that case:

    if you don't want to capture your own footage from your camera but make a slideshow with transmissions and music, you can choose what format to use when making a new project.

    hope this helps.
     
  9. Laslo Panaflex macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #9
    Well thanks for clearing that up. and it's good to know if other peeps need help with iMovie HD.
     

Share This Page