imovie HD thread

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by derajfast, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. derajfast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    this is probably a retarded question but i am trying to change the lengths of picture clips in imovie hd.....so i went to the help section and said to double click the clip and to change the duration time.....so i do it but the only thing i can edit is the clip name....ive tried doing it in the timeline view, clip view, and the panel..im sure i am being retarded so can someone please confirm that? thanks
     
  2. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    You do it in the image/photo "tab" on the right over there where the audio and effects and stuff is. There's a slider and an option to type things in, then you apply it.

    Hope that helps. :eek:
     
  3. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #3
    but the photos arent in iphoto....i imported them off of internet and dragged them to the clipboard, and when i go to clips and double click them on the right, the only thing that comes up is what i said before.......i know how to change the length of clips in imovie 4, but HD wont work
     
  4. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
  5. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #5
    please someone? i really need this for a school project by monday
     
  6. kgarner macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    Apple Support is your friend. Found this in less than two minutes. Have fun with your project.
     
  7. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #7
    i appreciate your help, but as i said, i did that and therewas no way for me to change the time, just the name of the clip
     
  8. kgarner macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #8
    Sorry, should have READ instead of skimmed your post. :eek: Anyway, I am baffled by this. I am not at my Mac right now so I can't check it ou, but perhaps you have a bad pref file that is causing a strange behavior. If you just move it out of the Preferences folder (don't throw it away) and try it it might work. If it doesn't you can just move it back. Good luck.
     
  9. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #9
    this is what happens what i double click the picture
     

    Attached Files:

  10. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #10
    please anyone!? i need this for monday really really badly
     
  11. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #11
    OK... I've just tried dragging two random pictures into the timeline. They both imported as 5 second clips which sounds like your problem. I too could only change the name by double clicking.

    So I tried doing what I do with pics I've imported from iPhoto.

    Drag the picture into your movie timeline from your clips. Then highlight it in the time line and click on the Photo tab. You'll see your image at the top (since iMovie knows it's a picture), you'll probably see that Ken Burns is checked. See attached image - you can ignore the zoom timeline unless you want the Ken Burns effect

    The timeline under that has a hare at one end and a tortoise at the other. Change that time from 5 seconds to however long you want the clip to last for; I've just changed mine to 10 seconds. Wait for it to render and you should see your clip get longer in the frame.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #12
    i see......thats stupid how the help tells you to double click it.....thanks though that works
     

Share This Page