iMovie HD Title & Import Quality Question

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by e²Studios, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #1
    Can i add images to a base title? Say i want a centered title but above the text a logo, is this possible in the title editor? Would i have to buy FCE HD/FCP to be able to do this?

    One last question, using iMovie HD is it degrading the video quality from our Canon XL2's when it imports? I had used Pinnacle/Avid Liquid Pro/Liquid Silver before and the imports seem cleaner on it than using iMovie HD, unfortunately the person that owned the pinnacle equipment decided to leave our little venture leaving me to use my Mac to do this since i'm the only one with post/pre production editing experience (last i did it was at UCLA film school).

    Thanks
    Ed
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    As long as you always use FW you won't get any generation loss.


    Lethal
     
  3. e²Studios thread starter macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #3

    I'm using a Sony DSR-11 VTR to my Mac via FW. I tried it both ways via the camera and via the VTR and it seemed to be grainy, and had more artifacting in certain frames, I just remember getting a much cleaner image from pinnacle liquid. Should iMovie be seeing the VTR as a camera, maybe the issue is that its seeing the device incorrectly? I'm using a Dual G5 PM 2.5 with 4GB of RAM, its my home machine that work gave me (shhhhhh im not using it for non work related things :p).

    Anyone have any ideas on the Title editing question?

    Thanks
    Ed
     
  4. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #4
    I don't think so on the title. The only suggestion I have is to create the title frame in Photoshop (so long as you didn't want a moving background) with the logo etc and then import that in as an image (non Ken Burns)
     
  5. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #5
    Make sure you're using the right media setup when making a new project.
     

Share This Page