iMovie Questions...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by thr, Jul 21, 2006.

1. thr macrumors newbie

Hi guys
    Here's the deal, we shot a video clip for someone wit a Panasonic HD camera (can't remember the model). I imported this video, but I didn't really look at the properties and therefore the video quality didn't really look HD.

1st question: When importin wit iMovie (the video is widescreen btw), what should I do to get the BEST picture quality I can get.

2nd question: If I import the video to another programme in my PC, then write those onto a CD and copy it to my mac, would the video quality be compromised?

3rd question(too many questions): Where can I find, free plugins, like color correctors, or something to enhance the video, or free plugins like that..
    Basically I am new to Mac. and new to iMovie, and I want to know what to do in iMovie in order to get the best video quality and picture.

Thanks in advance.
    thr.

2. Applespider macrumors G4

Applespider

looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    The video is full quality and when you export it out to DVD, it will be fine.

In order to allow you to edit, add effects etc without fully rendering it, iMovie shows you a lesser quality in its preview window.

3. thr thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks..
    Does anyone have any answers for the other questions? :confused:

4. Applespider macrumors G4

Applespider

So far as question 2 goes, there's not a lot point in doing that.

The quality from the camera will be the same whether you are importing to your Mac or a PC. And since HD video is something like 36GB an hour, it would be pretty tough to get them back onto a DVD without compressing them and thereby losing quality.