Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

p71

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 20, 2006
Okay heres the deal. I bought an Ex-Police Car from a Dealership who got it from a local Sheriff's office (Decommissioned and depoliced) for a good price (I needed a good car for cheap I am a college student). And since the Department too all the stuff out (Lights, Emblems, Search-light, antennas, even some OEM stuff), the dealer told me it was legal to drive.

However I was pulled over (First day driving it) and it was said I was impersonating a police officer and I needed to repaint it, or I would be arrested on a class C infraction. That the "Two-Tone Paint" wasn't legal HOWEVER it is THREE TONE Paint Scheme is. And I called my police department and asked if it was Legal, they said YES, now they are saying NO.
------------------
My Car (As-Is)
police.jpg

Real Police Car
sheriffcar.gif

------------------

I know the car LOOKS like it but its not and everything was removed by the department does this mean they didn't do their job making it ready for sale like the law says? I surly don't have money to redo everything (Bill was $920 and the car only costs $1625).

I live in a small town in Indiana and it seems cops have little to do minus harass people (I'm not exaggerating).

IS THIS LEGAL As it was say by The Police, Dealer, and Local Police (Before they changed their minds?

----LAW SAYS:----