Importing a Mac Pro from The US to Europe

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lycanthrope, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. Lycanthrope macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #1
    OK, the prices are so much cheaper over the pond that I'm thinking of buying my mac pro in the US for use in Europe. I see two issues here - the power supply and of course import duty...

    Anyone there got any ideas on the above - how could I get the machine shipped to Belgium (or UK) without getting a 10 or 20% tax slapped on it?

    And the power supply - I bought my iPod HiFi in NYC when I was there last year and of course it has a world-wide universal power supply, how does this work with the Mac Pros - do they have a 120/240 volt option?
     
  2. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The power supply isn't your problem.

    Getting a new Mac Pro past the customs agent may be a different story.
     
  3. Lycanthrope thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #3
    Indeed but I'm sure there are ways and means - a lot of eBay stuff gets through without duty...
     
  4. artalliance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Location:
    In the cool neighborhood of LA
    #4
    But that's a gamble. The last two ipods I shipped to friends in Europe as "gifts" got pulled in customs and the new owners had to pay import taxes.
     
  5. Lycanthrope thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    #5
    Sure and whereas tax on a $300 iPod is a pain the same on a $3k MP is a more serious proposition. Maybe it can't be done failsafe, I don't know.
     

Share This Page