Importing images into FCP - what resolution?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by juble, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. juble macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #1
    Hi there,

    I'm wanting to import some images into FCP HD and make a little slideshow, maybe with some DV footage and/or titles for a 21st. What resolution do I need to scan the images at to import them and is there any advantage at scanning them at a much higher resolution?

    ...also on another track entirely, am I a bit stupid to be buying a last gen PB over a new MacBook Pro? I wont be able to afford the intel native version of FCP, unless I could modify the PPC one to work under Rosetta - but then that is getting a bit dodgy... Has anyone tried this and/or what is performance like?

    Cheers,
    Josh
     
  2. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #2
    Ok, for your first question:
    You don't need to import the images at a resolution higher than DV-640x480 (if that's what you're outputting to), unless you're planning on doing some zooming in. Then, I'd up it a bit. If the image files are huge and high-res, you'll just slowdown your workflow unnecessarily.

    For your second question; no, you made the right choice. If you haven't noticed, threads are beginning to pop up detailing the problems people are having with their recently received MBP's. Now this is not to say everyone is having issues, as I'm sure most people are not. However, this also reveals the risks of buying a 1st revision product. The new hardware and software being implimented in the MBP's is bound to have bugs that slipped through the Dev's checks unnoticed, that will only surface after widespread consumer use. You can rest assured- your new Powerbook is a fast, reliable, and fully supported machine. It will continue to be for a long time. And worry not- all universal applications that are released in the future will work on your machine as well. They're universal! Enjoy your Powerbook.
     
  3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    pdpfilms pretty much hit the nail on the head. DV res is 720*480 though, and, as I understand it, you won't have to buy a brand new version of FCP you'll just need to buy a $50.00 disc that has the Universal Binary version of FCP on it.

    I wouldn't pay full price for a G4 laptop right now though. If it was me I'd only buy a refurbished one.


    Lethal
     
  4. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #4
    Assuming you have the full-version FCP4, 4.5 or 5 disk, you could upgrade to the full Universal Final Cut Studio package - http://www.apple.com/universal/crossgrade/ for between $99-199.

    I don't think Apple are offering a Universal version of FCP on it's own - they want everyone to upgrade to the Studio suite from now on.
     
  5. 3dit3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    #5
     
  6. juble thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    #6
    Thanks guys, all good info.

    I'm not sure if the PAL makes any difference either? :confused: may be zooming in etc on some photos so maybe 150-200 dpi?

    Regards to the PB or MBP, down here in NZ theres not really much in the way of refurbs being sold by apple (as it is run by Renaissance here), only 2nd hand models which rarely pop up from time to time. Also compounding that is there are alot of extra costs compared to buying one overseas in the states(TAX!! arg). I get an edu d/c so PB is $3400 + extra RAM or $4200ish for MBP (can claim some GST back). SO I guess, after all that it just comes down to reliability, and seeing as at Uni they have G5s then a PB might not be too bad... I had bought a new PB last week but got burgled :eek: , so I duno if thats a sign or not haha.

    Anyway, thanks for that. Much appreciated! :)
     
  7. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    PAL is 720*576. 150dpi should be more than enough. But as a test you should scan the same picture in at two or three different resolutions and see what's good enough and what's overkill.


    Lethal
     

Share This Page