importing mailboxes?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Cindy, Aug 5, 2005.

  1. Cindy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #1
    I finally got my ibook!! So, now I'm trying to switch info over. How do I import mailboxes from my emac? I have made several mailboxes for certain things and would like those on the ibook.
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    You could either use the Migration Assistant, or go to User, Library, Mail and mailboxes, burn it, iPod it whatever, and then use the import feature in Mail .
     
  3. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #3
    if you have a .Mac account you can use Backup 2.0
     
  4. Cindy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #4
    Now your talking about burning off the emac correct? If so, I can't since the emac has no CD burner. :(
    Don't have an ipod either. What is Migration Assistant?

    I don't have a .Mac account. I'm sure I can get one to try on the ibook since it's brand new. Don't they give a free one year deal on it?
    I didn't set up an account when I programmed this new ibook.
     
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #5
    what about just sending iit to each computer via AIM or something of the sort?
     
  6. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    Migration Assistant is a tool in Tiger that'll let you move over information from an old Mac to a new one, using Firewire Target Disk mode. You'll need a standard 6-pin to 6-pin Firewire cable. It gives you instructions on how to do the whole process. Just run it and it'll guide you through the rest—you can find it in /Applications/Utilities.
     
  7. Cindy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #7
    Well, I copied everything the hard way. :p
    I just copied and pasted each into appleworks and then transferred that onto a hard disk.
    It all went pretty fast.
     
  8. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Well as I just got my iBook, and it's what I'm typing on, I'm glad yours is up and running...

    You should beable to notice a difference from the eMac
     
  9. whoisdan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    #9
    I just did this with a Firewire cable. Was a breeze.
     
  10. Ugg macrumors 68000

    Ugg

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Location:
    Penryn
    #10

    Yep, I recommend this as well Cindy. Buy a firewire cable (~$20) hook it up to both computers and you can synch them so that the information on both is always the same. This is great if you're miles away and want to show someone a picture that you only loaded onto your eMac.
     
  11. Cindy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003

Share This Page