Importing to Mp3 format in i tunes ?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Avzone, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. Avzone macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #1
    If in Preferences I have Mp3 encode selected for the importing method, Why when I import a wav files does it remain a wav instead of mp3 file?
    I then have to go to advance settings and convert it to mp3.
    Also I have noticed recordings to cd are dramatically lower in volume than the original when I do a back up copy, is this because I have Sound check etc selected?

    Many Thanks for your advise.
    :)
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    That setting is for importing CDs. If you drag n drop a music file in to your library, it'll stay as that original format.
     
  3. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #3
    >>>>

    Well at the moment i am trying to import a wav file thats a l.p recording of a old tape and I want to have it mp3 to play on my player.
     
  4. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
  5. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #5
    >>>>

    Thats what i am doing, I just wondered if there was an easier way, instead of importing it and then waiting for it to convert.
     
  6. lostless macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #6
    As for the sound volume, yes it is lower (most of the time) if you burn an audio cd with soundcheck on since iTunes is trying to make all songs sound the same volume.
     
  7. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #7
    Convert it with XLD first, you can set it to add the converted files to iTunes.
     
  8. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
  9. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
  10. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #11
    >>>>

    Lossless has even named himself after it! ?
    :D
    Thanks anyway, but this doesn't seem the shortcut that I was after by opening another program.
    ;)
     
  11. lostless macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    #12
    Its Lostless :p not lossless, and I made the name up before lossless audio was even a well known buzzword.
     
  12. millar876 macrumors 6502a

    millar876

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland UK
    #13
    i think it converts it if you drag it into iTunes whilst holding "alt" not got my mac at work so can't check just now.

    Why are you using MP3 anyway, AAC is a much more efficient codec (i.e. better sound for the same bit rate) and theres also Apple Lossless
     
  13. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #14
    >>>>

    Is it, why is that ?
    Im using mp3 so I can play it on my mp3 player and all my music is in mp3 format, It seems the standard these.
    :)
     
  14. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    MP3, schmemp3... Have iTunes convert everything to AAC unless you don't have an iPod.
     
  15. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #16
    >>>>

    :p Ha!
    Ok then, Why is Mp3 Crap ? (Lets hear it )
     

Share This Page