In a bit of a pickle...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by imacintel, Aug 1, 2006.

  1. imacintel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #1
    So, I found out how I can use my iMac with my TV as a media center. While I do this, I want to shut of my iMac's screen. Question is, how? I tride the the brightness control app and it dims my tv's screen.

    Help?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    I don't have a helpful suggestion, except to mention that Front Row does this for you. What app are you using as your media center?

    B
     
  3. imacintel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #3
    It doesnt do that for me. I am using front row for my media center, although I may switch to quinuxews "MediaCenter".
     
  4. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #4
    Put a cardboard box over it.

    Seriously though, your TV is connected to your Mac thorough the video out port (VFA, HTV, PVC, whatever), right? So whatever your Macs screen shows your TV shows; including brightens.

    Thats a sticky-wicket.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Are you spanning on mirroring?

    It behaves as you suggest when I mirror, but when I turn spanning on it blanks the other screen.

    Of course I haven't found a way to get FR to use the secondary display so it blanks the HDTV unless I move the dock.

    B
     
  6. imacintel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    #6
    I am mirroiring.
     

Share This Page