in-line skating

Discussion in 'Community' started by question fear, Nov 4, 2003.

1. question fear macrumors 68020

question fear

So, I just picked up a pair of skates and am embarking on a plan to learn how to skate...anyone here know much/have any advice?
    Would also love to discuss the sport further with anyone who is interested.
    --Carly

2. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

eyelikeart

Get some wristguards before u buy anything else. I cannot tell u the number of times I fell while learning inline skates & had wristguards there to save me from breaking anything or turning my hands into beef jerky. ;)

Mr. A is an inline skating guy though, I'm sure he'll give some words of advice here soon enough.

3. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

Mr. Anderson

I've been skating for about 14 years or so - kind of lost track. ;)

Eye is right, get the wrist guards. Knee pads are not that important unless you're really concerned about your abilities or you plan on jumping and other more technical stuff (get a helmet for that as well).

As for learning - if you've ever ice skated, that will help, but only so much. When I first started to learn I went to a large empty parking lot and would spend a couple hours just going around the islands, practicing cross over turns and eventually skating backwards.

Once you get comfortable, go to the top of an empty parking garage (3 or more levels is best) and skate down on one leg the whole way. If you can do that you're doing really well.

Good luck!

D

4. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

eyelikeart

Have they really been out that long? :eek:

damn time's passing by...

5. wdlove macrumors P6

wdlove

I agree with eyelikeart & Mr. Anderson, safety gear is important. Get elbow pads, wrist guard, & knee pads In my mind the most important thing is a helmet. Head injury is a real posibilty and can be easily prevented.

6. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

eyelikeart