Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ingvild

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 31, 2015
I am a professional photographer and I am looking for a new way of storing my images. I think I want a 2-6 bay hdd cabinet/enclosure set to RAID 1, with the potential to start off with 2 disks and add on more when neccesary. In adidtion I want to back this up to my own cloud (like mycloud from wd), but I dont want this to happen automatically/not mirrored, in case I accidentally delete something. So I need a (manual) system of how I can back this up after making changes to files in the RAID setup.
I am also not sure of what transfer speed I need. I am not really considering working directly off the harddrives, but rather use my iMac for working, and when my files are delivered to the clients I transfer them to the back-up, and will of course maybe need to access them again, but mainly my use will be for storage. Therefor I think thunderbolt may be a bit unnessecary, and USB 3 should suffice.
- Can I start off using 2 disks i a ⅘-bay cabinet and add more as I go?
- Can I use it solely for manual back-up and not have an automatic system?
- What transfer speed should I look into when I am thinking of primarily using the cabinet as backup? Thunderbolt? USB3? Something else?
- Is there a concrete recommendation of a cabinet and/or cloud I should look into?
PS: I have no idea of what I am talking about here, and this might not make sense, which is why I need some input..

Thanks,
Ingvild

Last edited:

hallux

macrumors 68040
Apr 25, 2012
What do you plan to use for your offsite backup? No REAL backup solution is complete without offsite as well. Consider this - your house burns down but ALL your stuff is inside, how do you restore from your "backup" if that drive was also destroyed in the fire.