Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Reality4711

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 8, 2009
scotland
Many moons ago when I was a mere middle aged professional (earning my living) photographer the lens cupboard was full.
Canon:- 300/2.8,200/2.8, 135/2, 100/macro, 85L,50L,35L,16/35L,100/400L,70/200/2.8.
As was the camera cupboard.
Canon:- eos 1Diin,eos 1DSii,eos 10D (2),eos 1V,T90(2),eos5(2).

Standards were high, workload intense, success based on sales and satisfaction limited mostly to the clients praise and the odd pat on the back.
Having never reached the dizzy heights necessary to allow personal/project work when it came to selling up early (health) and retiring the phrase low & slow suddenly held out the hand of relaxed pleasure.
Critical focus, motion freezing speed and tracking went the way of shaking hands and retreating eye acuity.
Replaced with ,time, thought and other goals. The happy chance of being somewhere beautiful at the right time. The appearance of out of place entrances to balance that out of kilter image and so many other reasons to thank the lite kit and the slow lens. Finally blurred became arty and plastic became my friend:).

My kit now :- nikon D800, 18/35,50/1.8,soon to arrive 85/1.8. Normal at f8 using iso for exposure speed.

As an aside this method reminds me of using XP2 in my T90's, able to shoot on one roll from asa50 up to asa1600 and get 36 usable images - goes around comes around.

Sorry for the ramble. Comments loved as usual.

Regards

Sharkey

phrehdd

macrumors 601
Oct 25, 2008
I wax a bit nostalgic for many things about the film days. However, being quite a bit older now, I doubt I would have the joy (let alone the patience) but can rest knowing back then, it all made sense to me and thoroughly enjoyed the thrill of the entire process from shooting, processing to proofs and final print (save for when a client wanted the entire roll unexposed).