Inconsistent Airport reception

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tominated, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #1
    I think my new iMac has a bad airport card. The imac wont get consistent reception from the downstairs dlink router, when my (winblows) laptop gets perfect reception when i put it near the iMac. BTW, the majority of the time my mac wont even see the network, even though it sees our neighbours networks. anybody know what i can try?
    Tominated
     
  2. tominated thread starter macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #2
    P.S. it does work if i put the mac near the router
     
  3. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Try changing the channel your router is using. If you can pick up another network it may be a case of interferance casuing problems.

    I had problems with my G4 Mac Mini, but in that case the fix was to ditch the old 804b router (which worked ok with my PC) and get a new 804g one. After which I've not had a single problem...

    Or it may be your airport card...
     
  4. tominated thread starter macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #4
    i think it is the airport card. anyway, i don't want to change any router settings otherwise our wireless printer will go spastic.
     
  5. thewhitehart macrumors 6502a

    thewhitehart

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Location:
    The town without George Bailey
    #5
    Do you have other electronic devices operating that may interfere with your imac's airport reception?
     
  6. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Thats how you troubleshoot, you implement suggestions. You're asking for help aren't you? If your going to set your mind on a bad Airport card, your probably wrong :p , but go ahead an order a new one for $50. If your covered by Apple care and believe this is a hardware issue, you best phone them.

    Which DLink router is this? Does it support 802.11 b/g or only of them? I had similar problems with a DLink router, changing to channel 11 solved all my problems.

    Your wireless printer shouldn't have any problems after a setting change-simply restart it.

    Good luck. :D
     
  7. tominated thread starter macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #7
    Thats all good, but my lappie's wireless is great even when it is in the same room as my iMac
    BTW: i have an intel imac, would the AP card work with it?
     
  8. harisdmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #8
    You probably refer to 802.11b and g, or is this 804.b a new protocol? :p
     
  9. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    That, my friend, is what we call a typo. ;) :D
     
  10. tominated thread starter macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia

Share This Page