Incorrect time

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Nermal, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Today I noticed* that the time here on MR is incorrect, it's an hour fast. My timezone is correctly set to GMT+12, yet it's giving me GMT+13 (ie. it's currently 2:20 AM GMT, yet it says "All times are GMT +12. The time now is 03:18 PM."

    I remember having this problem a couple of years ago, but I thought that the upgrade to vB 3 solved it. But now it's happening again :(

    I've set my timezone to GMT+11 in the meantime.

    Any ideas?

    *I'm sometimes a bit slow to notice things, it might've been wrong for days.
     
  2. cairo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
  3. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #3
    I'm not in a mood to really think about this right now, but could it have something to do with the fact that the US (or at least most of it) is transitioning to Daylight Saving Time tonight?
     
  4. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Hmm, that shouldn't have anything to do with it because GMT doesn't change with daylight saving (especially not USA daylight saving!)
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Yeah, I'm two hours out too. I've put it down to Daylight Saving and vBulletin having no idea what's going on. From memory, we had some issues last time around too. :)
     
  6. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    You're two hours out? Did you guys just come out of DST as well, or something?
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    Yeah, our times were messed up because of the Commonwealth Games. We finished Daylight Saving last night/this morning but normally, we would finish this time last week.
     
  8. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8
    GMT -5 working fine for me, but I'm in the US.
     
  9. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  10. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    i can confirm that.
     
  11. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #11
    Okay, so I just went into my Edit Options page, made no changes but clicked Save Changes at the bottom all the same and now I'm only an hour out.
     
  12. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Well, it happens pretty consistently each time Daylight Saving starts and stops. I've always just assumed it was a vBulletin issue. It usually fixes itself within a day or so though, that's what I've found. :)
     
  14. cairo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    #14
    well forum time is still accurate for me... DST hasn't occured yet here
     
  15. iAlan macrumors 65816

    iAlan

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #15
    We dn't have Daylight time in Japan so I am always confussed on this? Especially since the UK and US start a week apart and Oz extended this year?

    All I know is that the extra hour of sunlight fades your curtains faster:D

    And farm animals get all confused because they don't wear watches and have no idea when feeding/milking/other farm stuff time is:D
     
  16. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Times are correct for me (-8 GMT), but Daylight Savings hasn't happened here yet.
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  18. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #18
    You're right, I need to change back to GMT+12 now :)
     
  19. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #19
    And now the time is off by an hour for me. MR says that it's 11:18 PM, while it's actually 12:18 AM here in California.
     
  20. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #20
    Ya, you're right. Now it's an hour off for those of us in CA, and just several hours ago it was right. :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  21. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #21
    Do you have "Automatically detect DST settings" turned on in your options?
     
  22. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #22
    You betcha.
     
  23. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #23
    *Sigh*... I just noticed that my Titan clock (set to local time zone) in World of Warcraft was an hour fast too. It appears that for some reason Azeroth also has daylight saving, despite the sun rising and setting at the exact same time every day :confused:
     
  24. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
  25. amacgenius macrumors 68000

    amacgenius

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #25
    I think I'm still an hr behind (GMT -5).

    Edit: Nope, 8:39PM :).
     

Share This Page