InDesign CS3 won't recognize my font!

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by dopey220, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #1
    I'm doing up a résumé in InDesign CS3, and it won't recognize a font that I want to use. I'm thinking CS3 in general doesn't like the font, because I can use it in Pages, but not InDesign or Illustrator. I've installed it numerous times, as well as restarting both InDesign and my entire system, to no avail. It's really beginning to piss me off. Can anyone help?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    what is the font? What is its name, and what type is it? Opentype, truetype, postcript? Where did you get it? How did you install it?

    Also, if you copy a font into the applications>InDesign>fonts folder, InDesign should recognize it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #3
    It was this font:

    http://www.dafont.com/v5prophit.font

    The dot and cell versions work just fine, but fading doesn't. Which sucks, because that's the one I want. The weirdest part is that it worked just fine in CS2, but now it won't in CS3. I tried installing it with font book and dropping it into library/fonts, but nothing is working.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Black&Tan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    #4
    Have you tried deleting your Font caches? Both the Apple and Adobe.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    After looking at a sample of your font from the provided link, I would advise against using it for your résumé (sp?) and go for something a little simpler.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #6
    Oh, heavens, no. That would be a disaster. That V5 Prophit font is only used once on the entire file. It's just the main heading. The copy is all Futura, quite an attractive, tasteful font IMO. I chose the font in question for the heading because I wanted sort of a futuristic feel. Trust me, it doesn't look bad.

    Anyway, how would I go about clearing the font caches?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    you can clear you font caches with font xplorer X. It is a free font mangament utility.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #8
    No good. Fontexplorer X recognizes the font, but InDesign still won't have any of it.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Black&Tan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    #9
    You said that FontXplorer recognizes the font...but did you use the program to clean your font caches? That is most likely the cause of your problems.

    If that doesn't work, I would suggest opening the font in whatever layout/graphics program works with it, typeset your headline, and export the page as an eps. Then place the cropped eps file into your resume/cv.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #10
    I cleaned font caches with both fontexplorer x and mainmenu, uninstalled/reinstalled numerous times with both font book and via drag and drop, repaired permissions, even booted up with my OSX install disk and repaired the disk with disk utility. Nothing works. It displays fine in fontexplorer x, font book, pages, and neooffice, but not in CS3 (photoshop, illustrator, indesign).
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Claytoniss

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    #11
    Try installing the font into the font folders on all the CS3 Apps. I had a font issue where it kept shutting down my program everytime I went to print or to export as a pdf. I threw it in each programs folder and no more freezing....at least some of the time.

    Try that and see if it works.
     

Share This Page