indesign-photoshop integration

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by homerjward, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #1
    i'm an indesign n00b--i'm working on the first project i've done in the program...:eek:
    anyway, how do i get a photoshop file to automatically update? like i add it to the indesign document, and when i make changes in the .psd file and save it it gets updated in indesign :confused:
    i'm sure the answer is astonishlingly simple but i can't figure it out...:eek:
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    In CS1:
    Place the psd file in your InDesign document. Control-click on the image (or right click if you have a 2 button mouse) and choose Graphics > Edit Original from the contextual menu. This will open Photoshop. Make the changes and then choose File > Jump to > InDesign CS. You'll be prompted to save the changes, and when you return to the InDesign document the new version will be displayed.
    I think the menus are slightly different in CS2, but I don't use it - the process will be similar though. If you're lucky Blue Velvet may reply to your post as well, and maybe tell you a different (better) way.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #3
    Ha. If you're lucky...

    *chortle*

    (best laugh I've had today)

    I'm only an occasional InDesign user, Quark's my workhorse.
    Sounds reasonable what you advised there...

    Edit: There are far more capable InDesign users and designers on these boards. I'm just one of the more vocal that's all.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    I accomplish the same thing using the links palette. Click on your image and then click on "edit original" in the links palette and when you save and go back to InDesign, it will automatically update.

    If you edit the photo completely outside of InDesign, you can use the Update Link button next to the Edit Original button in the same palette.

    I've never used the "Jump to..." command in Photoshop as mine's grayed out. I don't know why that is.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #5
    thanks! works great! :)
     

Share This Page