Inevitable...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by eleveneastgate, Jun 4, 2005.

1. eleveneastgate macrumors 6502

OK, how do I start...

I'm still a Mac Newbie (since 2003) , and a proud owner of:

1- PB
    2- iB

So far I'm 2/3 in laptop notebook Drops. :eek:

I try to keep these notebooks protected with sleeves, and other accessories yet still SH*T just happens.

This time my PB fell about 1ft or 2ft. When it landed, the RH corner (near battery) was pushed in a bit (Pics coming soon). The floor had carpet, but no padding :mad: !

So far, so good, all things are working as they should.

As soon as it happened, I searched through MR to see if anyone else had the same problem. They were plenty...

This time I will not freak out and look to & fro just to replace the bottom casing ($249 repair). I'll just keep using the darn thing, get my money's worth. When it breaks down, I'll get it fixed, and have them replace the bottom casing while they got it opened, :D

++++++++++++++++++

For all those interested, peep the Battle Scars...

Thanks for all who gave their 2cents, I appreciate it! I can always count on MR for making me feel a little better about my Mac problems and for the comic relief, PEACE!

[​IMG]

2. After G macrumors 68000

After G

I haven't dropped my iBook and broke anything ... but I have dropped it A LOT. It just happens to stuff. At least it works afterwards 99% of the time. Can't say the same thing about other electronics that I have dropped.

3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Maybe get an eMac. They're much harder to push off the desk.

4. PeterBonnar macrumors member

i once dropped a brand new G4 powerbook down two flights of stairs while it was compiling my java project.

Once i ran down to get it.... it was still working away fine! The only damage was a tint little crack about the head phones jack and a littel scrapping of the case.