Info. 0n VPC 6.0 and on Norton's

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mdeschenes, Feb 8, 2003.

  1. mdeschenes macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #1
    I am in the process of making a final decision on purchasing a DP 1.25. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with using Virtual PC 6.0 on a similar Mac. I am looking to purchase the DOS version as I already have XP Home (switching back to Mac). I take it that the installation of VPC then adding XP will be fairly straightforward ...I hope.

    Will VPC work reasonably quickly? I know that it will not likely be as quick as accessing and using programs on my AMD 2000+ PC. It really doesn't matter if it is a little slower but hopefully not twice as slow. Is it fairly stable?

    I am also thinking of purchasing a decent utility program. I do have experience with Tech Tools and FWB 3.0 during my PPC 8500 days. I do not know which programs will allow me to verify and fix problems for OS X like these did. I am not a big Norton's fan but I do not know of any other utilities for Jaguar. I did read a review on Micromat X but it did not seem favourable. Any suggestions? Will the new Norton's work well?

    Next - I have Applework 6.0. Will it "run" with Jaguar? I believe there is an update available but I do not know if it is the next logical step up from 6.0. Anyone know if this update is free? If not, how much will it cost?

    Thanks for any info.
     
  2. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

    FredAkbar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #2
    Re: Info. 0n VPC 6.0 and on Norton's

    You can get a free update of AppleWorks here: http://www.apple.com/appleworks/update/ . This will update AW 6.0 to 6.2.4. I don't really know much about the answers to your other questions, though.

    --Fred
     
  3. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #3
    NO VPC!!

    I'm using VPC 6.0 right now, and let me tell you, it sucks. It's supposed to be faster than v.5, and that's bs. Also, it's extremely confusing to install any OS's from cds and such. Basically, if you NEED it, fine...if not you won't miss it.
     
  4. FredAkbar macrumors 6502a

    FredAkbar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    #4
    Re: NO VPC!!

    What are your computer specs? (memory, model, processor, etc.). I was thinking of getting VPC 6 for my new iMac 1 GHz with 512 or 1024 MB of DDR RAM.

    --Fred
     

Share This Page