Info needed on how to run classic 9 inside OSx

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by samwild, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. samwild macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    #1
    People,
    I am running OSX (10.3.7) and I keep getting a prompt to run certain software in OS9 Classic. I can see an icon for this but my computer keeps telling me that I need to install OS9 or later. Anyone ideas on how I can go about doing that? I can't find OS9 on the web to download (which doesn't surprise me).
    Many thanks, Sam

    :confused:
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    You need to have a valid OS9 install for Classic to work (as you have discovered). Apple ship OS9 with all new machines for this purpose. Take a look on the restore/install CD/DVDs that came with your Mac.
     
  3. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #3
    Take a look on the CDs that came with your Mac... there should be an 'Additional Software' CD in there somewhere. Run the installer on there and that should install Classic for you.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Of course you'll be much happier in the long run when you upgrade the software to an OSX version ;)

    What are you using that is asking for OS9?
    If it is something you use often, you might want to consider the upgrade.

    The others are correct... the OS9 install should be on your original install disc.

    "People"?? You must be using the term very loosely if you are referring to those of us on this forum!

    BTW, welcome to the forums!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg
    *only have 1 app that requires OS9 now*
     
  5. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #5
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    OK, OK, I've sent that link to my home computer! :p
    Gotta check it out later.

    You know, I used to love text games.
    The ones where you say "N" for north and you move north, you enter rooms and it says "you are entering a room with windows and doors, there is a tablel with cheese on the table."

    Back in the day, I was using CompuServe on a 2400 baud modem.
    I ran up quite a bill playing a haunted house game!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg
     
  7. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #7
    Used to play a lot of Master of Orion.

    That is before I ran Delocalizer and broke Classic (used to have OS 9 in Norwegian, and OS X in English, and just saved the "Norwegian" localization files, forgetting the "no" files). Havn't bothered to do a clean install (or a major reconstruction) just to play MOO, so at the moment I'm without Classic.
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    Used to like that Glider game too, with the paper airplane flying room to room with vents and such. Spent hours on that when I should have been working.

    As far as I was concerned, if I couldn't play a game with the arrow keys, the programmer was not doing his/her job! No joysticks for me!

    Woof, Woof - Dawg
     

Share This Page