Info overload: Need buying advice-ibook, etc.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by brobson, Aug 13, 2004.

1. brobson macrumors 6502

brobson

I am an art teacher who has all her valuable surfing lessons at home on a OS X 333 G3 Blueberry mac upgraded to 256-60 hard drive. A friend upgraded and now we can't play games (warcraft etc.) We used to have to restart it in 0s 9 then play. Now for some reason we can't do that anymore.

I have a windows at 2 work locations as slow as molasses and for the life of me I can't get my files on them. I have dreams of pulling up images on the spur of the moment to show my class. I would love to project them to a tv but I don't think I am enough of a saavy geek.
    So I have decided to either, get an ibook used/new (what should I get?
    I have an old photoshop and illustrator but not too many other big programs in 4 years.)
    Or get a new iMac and take my old one to work.
    My thinking on an ibook: I can take it to different locations if I expand my private art classes at other schools. (I teach after school also) But I am insecure about losing it, dropping it, having my son convescate it into his room forever.

I also need a scanner and the $99 off of a hewlett packard scanner/printer offer is tempting. So it the ipod special but will I really use it? I will probably lose it. ADD art teacher. Why wouldn't a person just burn disks and listen to them in the car and at home?

So, lots of food for thought.
    All of this is adding up and I don't want to spend over $1600. Actually I want to spend about 1/2 that but ebay deals are scary. Can you buy appleworks protection if any machine is less than one year? Or can you pick it up?
    Are those deals foolproof or do people get burned? Is the refurbished small dog a good deal? Or is educational discount the best? I still have to pay tax.
    What about thieft? I had another teacher have her laptop stolen.