Inline ads in IE for PC

Discussion in 'Community' started by SeaFox, Nov 4, 2003.

  1. SeaFox macrumors 68020

    SeaFox

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    #1
    This isn't related to the article, but I'll mention it here.

    On the MacRumors home page I have two artcles with ads inside them.

    In the text of this article, the sentence that starts:

    "In addition, Apple's strengths with Mac OS X, competitively..."

    "Mac" is double underlined, and when I point to it I get a little text ad for Mac Cosmetics at Gloss.com. :rolleyes:

    In the article below, "mac", "software", and "data" have ads attached.

    See?

    [​IMG]

    I remember this being an IE feature of M$'s, but I have no idea how it got activated, does anyone know how to get rid of it? It only appears on those two articles.
     
  2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Moved to its own thread in appropriate forum.
     
  3. SeaFox thread starter macrumors 68020

    SeaFox

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
  4. Codemonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #4
    Smart Tags?

    Ya, I noticed this yesterday as well (and it's still there today). I looked at the code with no success, as it didn't occur to me that it would be a function of IE (I've heard of Smart Tags before, but being on a Mac for the last 4 years meant I could ignore that whole debacle), plus I was under the impression that a) Smart Tags looked different (squiggly underlines) and b) That the new version of IE doesn't even include Smart Tag functionality anymore (due to a wicked backlash from pretty much everyone in the community).

    But now, I don't know what to make of this. Anyone? Arn? Do you know why your site looks like that? :p
     
  5. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #5
    :)

    It's on purpose... to a degree (though I don't think any of you are buying Mac cosmetics)... contextual ads from a different vendor. only appears on Windows IE at the moment.

    we'll see how it goes.

    Of note, pop-unders are gone. ;)

    arn
     
  6. Codemonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #6
    Hehe. That's OK if it's on purpose (not that my opine matters, you're the one that has to make $$), I just didn't want my link-clicking to be associated with those bandits in Redmond.

    Why did I not see it in the code, then? Am I blind?
     
  7. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #7
    It's coded to only appear in Windows IE, so depending on what browser you're using, the codes may not included.

    Also, they use some interesting method of implenting it. They use CSS for it, there are special <div>'s surrounding the article text.

    arn
     
  8. Codemonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #8
    To weird - I'm going to have to take a closer look when I get a chance - pretty sneaky!

    I like how subtle (and fast the rollover-popup happens) it is, to be sure.

    Thanks for the heads up.

    Chris.
     
  9. SeaFox thread starter macrumors 68020

    SeaFox

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    #9
    Yeah, if it's on purpose and you're getting something back on it I have no problems with it. I thought M$ was sneaking their own advertising onto your forums.

    I usually use Firebird on the forums anyway.
     

Share This Page