Insert characters in MS Word without deleting

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Dr.Gargoyle, Nov 19, 2006.

  1. Dr.Gargoyle macrumors 65816

    Dr.Gargoyle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Location:
    lat: 55.7222°N, long: 13.1971°E
    #1
    This is most likely stupid question, but I am getting crazy here...
    I am working on a Word doc (created on a MS machine) and somehow I have managed to reset Word to delete characters as I insert new text in the document. It is highly annyoing. On windows machines you have a insert button to change this option below F13.
    Can anyone help me set the preferences such that I am able to insert characters without deleting at the same time?
     
  2. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    So you're using Word for Mac correct?

    If you are, in the status bar along the bottom of the document there is a button that says "OVR", click on it to turn overtype off (the gem next to it will no longer be green).
     
  3. Dr.Gargoyle thread starter macrumors 65816

    Dr.Gargoyle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Location:
    lat: 55.7222°N, long: 13.1971°E
    #3
    THANKS!!!!!!!!
    You just saved me a couple of thousand hours of therapy. ;)
     
  4. kretzy macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #4
    No worries. :)

    I know how you feel. That is easily one of the most annoying "features" of Word and I get annoyed when I accidentally turn it on.
     
  5. Dr.Gargoyle thread starter macrumors 65816

    Dr.Gargoyle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Location:
    lat: 55.7222°N, long: 13.1971°E
    #5
    again thanks

    You have no idea how much time you have saved me. I am writting a referee report to a scientific journal and I have promised the editor that my report would be done by Monday. Since I wasn't able to finish the report at work last week and I do my best to stay away from the department during weekends, I decided to finish it at home.
    I struggled all Saturday trying to fix this annoying problem without any success. I was on there verge to cave in and go to work when I swallowed my pride and submitted my embarrasing problem here. :p

    It is the same story every time I have to use any of MS insane apps. I just know I am in deep trouble when I have to regress back to the domain of MS. I just wish Apple could come up with a killer editor (preferably based on LaTex) so I finally could stay away from the domains of Gates and his hooligans.
     
  6. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #6
    Take a look at these two packages as a substitute.

    The first, that I use, is Neo Office http://www.neooffice.org that runs native on the Intel Mac.

    I had previously tried Open Office http://www.openoffice.org and it runs under X11. I found better performance under Neo Office.

    And - you don't have to wait till next year - maybe - for an update!!!
     

Share This Page