install discs= spit out by rom.. imac g4 17" flat panel

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by hucchund22, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #1
    hi there.. can anyone help me please??? i have a 17" imac g4 flat panel pc 1.25ghz.. the problem with this machine is it can't find the OS installed in it( as i was told in my previous post) so i bought two OS's namely a 10.3.4 and a 10.5.4 in ebay.. now, the problem is that whenever i try to start it up(to boot from cd rom) after a few minutes, the cd drive will just open and comes out the cd.. both installers came out one after the other... is there a problem with this machine? or i am the one making the mistake?

    help me please... thanks..

    p.s the installers are in cd format and not dvd ( i think):confused:
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #2
    and when i tried the apple hardware test, the following message was displayed: apple hardware test does not support this machine.. two options available, either to shut down or to restart..what does this mean??

    i used the mac os version 10.3.4 cd..

    thanks...
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #3
    and now the cd is stuck inside the rom.. getting impatient with apple products.. they won't work without a mouse.. additional expenses again.. i have to buy a mouse.. :c
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    According to this: http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/imac/stats/imac_1.25_17_fp.html your Mac had 10.2.3, so discs with 10.3.4 are from other machine and contains incompatible AHT version. AFAIR, 10.3.4 should be on DVD not CD, and every 10.5 version is on DVD DL certainly. If your optical drive reads AHT, so i guess that's no problem with it. Discs are not working problably because they are dedicated to other machine type.
    BTW, every USB mouse will work, i guess you have one around.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #5

    so what can i do? i really want to repair this mac coz i spent money on it already.. :(

    do i need to buy the 10.2 version of mac os?

    what about i just buy a new hard disk for it, maybe that way i wont need to buy another OS.. what do you think? :p
    p.s please tell me the size, type & etc. of the hard disk so that i can find one as soon as possible.. :p thanks a bunch...

    this will be my project.. :p
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #6
    witch of these dvd's dose the 10.5.4 dvd look like
     

    Attached Files:

  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #7
    i have the gray ones.. why? maybe i bought the wrong install discs? :eek:
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #8
    yeah, gray ones are machine specific, dose it say something like "mac pro" or "imac" on the disc
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #9
    what do you mean by machine specific?

    the 10.5.4 - Mac pro
    the 10.3.4 - power mac g5

    did i make a mistake buying these? :(
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #10
    it means they are only meant to work on one type of mac, it is still possible to get it to work with your discs, do you have another mac?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #11
    ah.. no, i don't have any.. this is my first and only mac at the moment.. just wanted to experiment on apple products.. is there anything else can i do? :(

    so this installers i have? are they like for single use only? or family pack? coz i'd sell them back if they won't be able to fix my mac? i just bought them thinking that because they're apple products, they'll work on any apple products.. my mistake,, huhu..

    sorry i have so many questions,, my first time having an apple and hopefully not the last.. :eek:
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #12
    no probs, do you have any friends with macs? if so do you have a memory stick that is at least 8gb
     
  13. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #13
    no one likes apple computers here, the only apple product they like is the iphone and that's it.. all of us have microsoft computers here.. hehe..

    what do you need the 8gig memory stick for? it's really impossible to fix it right? :c
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #14
    it's just if you knew someone with a mac and had a 8gb memstick you could have restored the i0.5.4 install dvd to the memstick and replaced some files so it would work on your imac, but if you don't know anyone with a mac you should probably consider selling the dvd's and buying a 10.5 dvd that looks like this
     

    Attached Files:

  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #15
    thanks for the info.. i have to get the dark colored cd's ... hehehe.. tsk3x.. i was excited for nothing, i thought i could use this imac already.. huhuhu..

    but anyways, thank you so much..
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
    #16
    Happy to help, i did the same thing to a imac g3 i got for free:)
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #17
    thanks a lot.. :D
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #18
    I haven't read through this in a heap of detail, but a word of advice if you're planning to install 10.5 on a 17" iMac G4 FP – don't bother. It's sluggish and frustrating. I suggest you install Tiger (10.4) as it runs like a treat.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #19
    nice.. Thanks a lot mate.. It just happens that i won in ebay a 10.4 o.s.. What a coincidence.. Ehehe.. So, the 10.5 wont be good for my imac even if i put 2gb ram on it.? Thanks
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #20
    2GB? Now I haven't tried that with an iMac G4. I first installed Leopard on one with 768MB of RAM and then upgraded it to 1.25GB; both times it was far too slow (at least by my standards, and the animation was choppy at best), but that may just be my luck. However, I find Tiger runs superbly on my G4.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #21
    yup, 2gb.. i dont have the 200pin ram yet but i already have the 184 pin.. anyways, it doesn't really matter cause i'm just trying to upgrade it and see how good it can get,. don't have anything else to do.. :p

    ubt luckily, i'll have the tiger, maybe i'll just stick to it at the moment.. :p
     
  22. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Nanaimo, BC
    #22
    I run Safari, iTunes, Adium, Mail, and Open Office (with Growl, Perian, and iStat Pro loaded up in background) on the machine in my signature. Sluggish is in the eye of the beholder I suppose. Is it as responsive as my MacBook? No. But it's still quick on it's feet when the basics are involved. I chose Leopard over Tiger because of the software support disappearing from many major programs (Growl, Firefox, Opera, just to name a few, and Safari 5 could be out soon right?), the Time Machine function, and the fact that I ran both systems back-to-back doing the same tasks and could see negligible difference. Neither version could muster the guts to render Flash video. Made attempts with v8 through v10 of Flash.

    Anyways, with all my programs (except OpenOffice) running smoothly, I've got 479Mb free memory, and the system's been up for three hours.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #23
    I don't use Firefox, Opera, Growl etc., and a lot of new software is "10.4.11 or later", seeing as the APIs and libraries on Tiger and Leopard are — near to — identical and how do you think Safari 5 will run on a G4 system? Whether if it's running Leopard or not. And it's really not all that hard to back up your system on your own, in fact, prior to Time Machine, there were already a few automated back up management applications out there.

    Well, that's where we differ – my uptime is days, not hours.

    It's ultimately preference.
     
  24. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #24
    hi there.. another problem..

    i bought the black install discs and not the gray one.. but still the same problem.. the rom will still spit it out.. what could be the problem? maybe the cd/dvd rom is not functioning properly? should i buy a new one? btw, the O.s i bought is tiger.. thanks
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #25
    Do you have four CDs or a DVD? And by the sounds of it, it sounds like you have a faulty disk drive. Do you have an external one? I think I had that very same problem with a G4, some Macs have temperamental optical drives. :rolleyes:

    Or do you have a USB flash drive with 2GB+ of memory?
     

Share This Page