Install Mac OS X 10.5.6 on 256MB Ram PowerBook G4

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by chekz0414, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I have the install DVD for Leopard and unfortunately the RAM slot on this PowerBook G4 12" 1GHz went dead so I am stuck on 256MB RAM. Is there ANY way to Install Leopard on this much RAM? Even if it is slow????
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #2
    no way that i know of. you can cheat on the cpu speed, but not the ram AFAIK. you could try and install it on something else and the then clone it accross.

    but don't.

    with 256mb of ram it will be about as useful as a rock. slow like watching grass grow slow. make a turtle look fast slow. did i mention slow? best of luck.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    btbrossard

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #3
    Even if you could install - the performance would be quite poor.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    mabaker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #4
    Remain with Tiger. The performance of Leopard becomes bearable with 786 upwards. Even with 512 it’s not as pleasant as one would want it on a good old and relatively fast PowerBook.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Paulywauly

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #5
    with that much RAM your gonna have performance issues with Tiger! Nevermind Leopard! :eek:
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #6
    Yes. Tiger needs at least 512MB to perform at a decent clip and Leopard needs at least 1GB or 2Gb if you want really smooth performance.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    While it is possible to run 10.5.6 on that little RAM (So people who say its impossible I can say outright are wrong - I have it on 128MB RAM on my 700Mhz eMac, and it runs), it will be diabolical.

    To get it to run on my eMac (Which meets absolutely none of Leopards Minimum Requirements), I installed it using FireWire Target Disk Mode on the eMac, and a PowerBook G4 to install it onto its harddrive - a similar process would work on your PowerBook. However, this comes with a grave warning: on the eMac, opening iTunes takes an ice age. Even on a 1Ghz G4 with 256MB it will run diabolically slowly, but it is possible.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Can't really answer the question, but I can tell you that even Tiger runs poorly on 256MB of RAM. Leopard is just acceptable on 512MB if you've got a supported CPU speed, otherwise +1GB is what you should go for. I've run it acceptably on a 466MHz G4 with 1.25GB of RAM.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #9
    get a friend with another ibook/pb g4 and make a cc image (make .dmg file) and then reimage onto your pb (.dmg file wont be bootable,so use tiger dvd/cd to boot and go into du to reimage .dmg...............

    now should you....nooooooooooooo....you would just be wasting you time....heck even tiger with only 256mb ram would be painfull
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    MAC MAN JW

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo,Ny
    #10
    i Ran a G4 MDD with leopard with only 256mb ram my new Hard Drive went in 1 month:D
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    #11
    Tiger runs fine for me lol :3 I just want Leopard for iTunes really. Which is why I wondered if its possible. I don't have a secondary Mac to do the FireWire thing :0 so am I just screwed?
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #12
    Is this so you can sync with an iDevice on a new firmware or something? I just don't get why you'd want to slow everything down just for a couple of new features in a single app.

    Have you considered upgrading the RAM? You'll get a substantial gain in performance, it's definitely a worthwhile investment.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #13
    I always see people selling old memory on craigslist. You could easily get another 256-512MB for $5-10.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #14
    From the OP:
    12" Powerbooks have one RAM slot and 256MB on the motherboard.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    I would probably try and borrow another PowerPC Mac to do the install, as otherwise getting in to install while Im sure its technically possible, I really wouldn't want to try. I mean its definitely possible, but I would probably say that for all the hassle it would cause you, with acceptable Leopard Macs (if you look at desktops) now costing $100 including a cheap display, its probably easier just to buy another Mac and use that for iTunes (and to update your PowerBook if you so desire) than mess around with the installer.
     

Share This Page