Installed new hard drive in iBook G4- circle with slash through it now!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by TheScavenger, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #1
    I just installed a 160GB 5400RPM hdd in place of my old 30GB 4200RPM hdd. I booted the computer from the Panther install disc one but all that appears is a grey screen with a circle/slash. I've tried resetting the PRAM and PMU and that didnt help.

    Any advice?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
    #2
    first things first

    Did you format the new hard drive with your install disks?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #3
    How do I do that? I don't have the original restore discs.

    Its amazing how I can know so much about windows based systems and so little about Macs :D
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #5
    Doesn't sound like it's booting from the disk have you tried booting with "C"?

    Press 'C' before you get to the grey screen and it should boot up from the CD.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #6
    I've tried booting up with "C" to boot from the CD. When I do that by clicking on the picture of the install disc after holding down "C", the computer thinks for a bit and then the circle/slash comes up.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    clyde2801

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    In the land of no hills and red dirt.
  8. macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #8
    Since holding down "C" didn't work, try holding down "option"

    This will display available devices to boot from such as hard drive, external drive, CD.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #9
    unless that new hard drive came with OS X installed, you're going to need the install DVD, assuming that the iBook has a DVD reader.

    if you don't have the original discs, you're going to have to fins an external 2.5 inch adapter or another mac to clone an OS onto the new drive.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #10
    Panther Install Disc 1
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #11

    did holding "option" work for you?

    Keep it held down from before you hit the power until you see the grey screen with the CD icon in the middle, a refresh icon on the bottom left and a proceed icon on the bottom right of the screen.

    select the CD icon and hit the proceed icon
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #12
    I've tried this. After selecting the CD icon it goes to the circle/slash.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #13
    what system did the iBook come with?

    is it a retail Panther CD or a system restore disc?
     

Share This Page