installed new ram but.....

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by slipper, Dec 30, 2003.

  1. slipper macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    i sintalled a 512mb ram in my G4 iBook and ive beenusing it for about 30 minutes since. so far Halo and the system profiler has crashed and while playing halo again, it froze again with a black box and an error message instructing me to hold the power button for several seconds to restart in like four different languages. never did see that before. hope this ram isnt messing up my computer. BTW its from Centon and i bought a PC2700 512mb.
     
  2. johnnowak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    New York, New York
    #2
    Run a test with the hardware test CD. It's almost definitely bad RAM.
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    well there's a quick way to find out, remove it! :rolleyes: If the problems go away then you know you have a bad chip, and you can get it replaced ;)
     
  4. slipper thread starter macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #4
    i ran the test CD and the RAM can up............ BAD! arg, im off to comp USA tomorrow morning and hopefully they will refund the price. going to Crucial.com. just to get the record straight, PC2700 is backwards compatible with 2100 systems, correct?
     
  5. thehuncamunca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    NJ

Share This Page