Installed RAM, how to check it for faults?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Fatboy71, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Fatboy71

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I've ordered my first Mac, (27 inch iMac) and I've ordered some ram to install in the iMac when it arrives.

    I was wondering, how do I check the installed ram for faults?

    Is there a application etc with Mountain Lion that would allow me to do this?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #2
    Check out our MacRumors guide to Testing RAM. You should find what you need in there. :)
     
  3. Fatboy71, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fatboy71

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks SandboxGeneral for the help, its much appreciated.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fatboy71

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I've just downloaded Memtest, not sure though if it will run on Mountain Lion?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #5
    I did on my 2011 MBP running newest version of ML.. Seemed to be pretty thorough, and really made it Work and Heat Up as I recall.. This is the Link to the Download I used, I imagine it is the same:

    http://osxdaily.com/2011/05/03/memtest-mac-ram-test/
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fatboy71

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Thanks for the help bobcan its much appreciated.

    I think Memtest will be the best, most thorough thing to use for checking for errors in my ram. Thanks again.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #7
    You are very Welcome of course.. I have run it 3-4 times sporadically on my last two MBP's just to learn what goes on.. and I did use it to to help me confirm it WAS my Computer Hardware issue on my current MBP ** my Logic Board was at fault, RAM-1 slot just died!! ~ Seems like a good helper!!

    ** If you open up Activity Monitor when 'memtest' is running, you will see it uses virtually ALL the RAM available, and I made sure the FANS were keping it cool.. and I have 'tested' to see if it will allow some use of computer as well, and have to say it does, although SLOWER indeed seemingly.. I could find no evidence this would be harmful, so I just carried on as such!!

    Good Luck and hope it helps!! ;)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fatboy71

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Thanks again bob for the help.

    Hopefully I shouldn't be waiting too much longer to install the ram as my iMac is showing "preparing for shipment" :)

    I'll install the ram as soon as I take my iMac out of the box (saves me taking the iMac off the desk, disconnecting everything again later) and I'll then run Memtest once I've went through the initial setup stage of a new Mac.

    This will be my first Mac and I'm really looking forward to moving to Mac and learning the Mac way of doing things :)

    Thanks again bob.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    bobcan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny but Cold.. Canada
    #9
    Cool.. I don't think there would be any reason NOT to put it in ASAP, so carry on unless someone wiser than me has a good idea on that..:cool:

    Also, a great site for Do-it-Yourself MAC stuff is ifixit.. Follow iMac and find your Model.. RAM install should take 3-5 minutes (3x Phillips Screws, Remove Vented Cover, Pull 2 Plastic Tabs.. REMOVE & REPLACE!!) just did one last night at my friend's house, put 4x 8GB sticks in where he had 2x 4GB earlier.. Very Zippy!!

    http://www.ifixit.com/Device/Mac

    Happy MAC'day to you!!
     

Share This Page