Installed SSD and blade SSD, now there are stripes down my screen

Discussion in 'iMac' started by thepiks, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    #1
    any ideas what I might have unplugged? where is the video card plug into motherboard at? I can see some of my screen just fine but other stripes are off white and white. please help
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #2
    Did you use the iFixit teardown and look over their process to see where everything is located and see all of the connectors?

    iFixit 2012 iMac Teardown
     
  3. macrumors member

    EPiCDiNGO

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #3
    OMG the iMac is broke return it for a FULL refund ;)
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #4
    It would appear that this guy opened up his iMac and installed some internal SSDs, not sure that's covered by AppleCare...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
  6. macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #6
    There was two plugs for the monitor ,

    maybe one of them isn't pushed back in correctly.

    When we pulled apart our 27"
    We sat screen on counter infront of it and connected then powered up before we stuck it back on.

    Because now assuming you just stuck it back together before testing you need to open it again yeah ?

    I would be checking those two plugs maybe just not sitting flat
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    #8
    the 2 cords were plugged in correctly, anyone have any other guesses I could try? Thanks!
     
  9. macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #9
    can you remove the Blade SSD and just leave the normal SSD sata one connected ? 1 by 1 see if the drives are giving any interference.

    do the lines come up right away ?
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    #10
    here is a pic of what my screen looks like

    http://i46.tinypic.com/o318l.png

    ----------

    yeah the lines come on the second my computer begins to boot. Im guessing video card cord?
     
  11. macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #11
    gee that sucks, hopefully no pins or damage on those two monitor cables :/

    how much of it did you pull apart is there any earth points on the motherboard that weren't hooked back up ?

    has the gpu come loose ?
     
  12. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #12
    it's not.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #13
    Put it back as it was and take it into Apple anyway.

    They probably won't notice anything is different as I doubt think geniuses looks at glue formations.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #14
    Oh dear. Not what you want to see.

    I know you've checked the cables but make sure you double, triple, quadruple check that video cable. It's the wider of the two and it has quite a fiddly lever lock. Swing the lever arm up, take the cable out and ENSURE there is no dirt in there or on the cable connector itself. Also check that the cable's contact strips haven't become damaged or creased by forcing it into the socket (which is a common cock up).

    Other than the video cable, I'm not sure what to suggest. :(

    Did you remove the adhesive tape by the way?
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #15

    Good attitude, pull something apart voiding the warranty, break it, then put it all back together and act like you did nothing wrong while asking for a replacement.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    #16
    I did remove the adhesive tape. I will check the wider cable again. Thanks!
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #17
    Looks like the LVDS cable is not inserted properly or possibly damaged. Make sure the cable is sitted correctly on the back of the lcd and the logic board.
     
  18. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    #18
    Double checked, cable is seating correctly, problem continues. No way that the ssd blade install is causing this is there?

    ----------

    Is there anywhere I can order a lads cable replacement? Could the cable get damaged that quickly?
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #19
    Unfortunately, its unlikely to be a physical connection issue given you are getting some recognizable image. That sort of pattern, made up of good and bad portions of the image, is typically a problem with video buffering or paging memory. You may want to ensure your video card (does it have discrete gpu?) is seated firmly.

    Even though the image is striped, can you see mouse movement? Does the system respond to the keyboard? That would be another indicator its internal to the video processing logic.
     
  20. macrumors 65832

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #20
    its either the display cable or the display itself. guess is since you opened it up it the pins on the LVDS cable either got stripped, bent or damaged in some form. also you have to ensure theyre pushed into the slot properly and fit and not even slightly outof position.

    lcd could be damaged either through physical damage or electrostatic damage.
    make sure the cable is secure on both ends - the display itself and into the logic board.

    ensure all cables are secured in their slots.
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    #21
    Maybe try and plug in an external monitor, to rule out everything but the display.
     
  22. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #22
    You'll need to disassemble it again and check all the ribbon cables are seated properly.
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #23
    Good idea. It could determine if its the display vs logic board/video card.

    ----------

    This seems plausible. I would imagine if the connection was bad it would be an all or non thing or color issues.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #24
    Worst case scenario you have short something did you use ESD protection?Put the computer back to normal and take it to apple and if you are lucky they will not see that you opened it.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #25
    any updates ?

    have you got it powered up while monitor is sitting off the chassis on a towel in front of unit,

    and while powered up, give the cables a slight move and see if this has any effect on the image.

    to test the cable it;'s self for a break and connectors. at logic board end and lcd end.
     

Share This Page