Installed Windows 7 but it takes 19 gigs??

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by lexusracin, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    #1
    I just finished the install. Out of a dreadful 128gb drive I rationed away 30 gb for light gaming on windows. I installed Win 7 ultimate 64 bit. In the windows folder it shows that folder alone is 19 gigs. It says I only have 8 gigs free! With 8 gb free I cant even install a single game! Shouldn't windows be only 7 or 8 gigs? Why is it taking 19 up? Any way to fix this?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    No. Once you start using win7 it will take even more space. It's not realistic using win7 on a partition less than 60GB, unless you only use it for one app.

    Which games do you wanna run?
    Could you run it in VMWare/Parallels, then u could use Win XP which can be slimmed down to less than a GB.

    Even better use wine/cider (I know loads hate it, but it takes no space at all).
    I'm playing old games like Vampire Masquerade Bloodline and SpellForce 2 on my MB,
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    #4
    According to MS - Win 7 needs 32GB of space to run. I use it as a VM and the max allotted is 40GB for the VM. Currently it takes about 20GB but will expand to fill space as needed.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #5
    Win 7 Pro 32bit took about 17gb on my 13/4/128 MBA. I allocated 40gb to the Windows partition because I don't plan on putting too much there. It runs fine.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    #6
    I use XP with nLite and uses less that 1GB in a VirtualBox image
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    poobear

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #7
    Too bad OP seems to want Win 7 ultimate 64 bit..
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    This is a good tip from that link:

    Open command prompt with administrator privilege.
    Type this : powercfg -h off

    It will turn off hibernation and remove c:\hibfile.sys which will be the same size as your installed RAM.
     

Share This Page