Installing Apps Confusion?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by UWF404, Feb 5, 2006.

1. UWF404 macrumors regular

I'm a MAC newbie.. Ok, not exactly "new" but have only been using MACOSX for 14 months. And yet I'm still confused with installing programs. Can someone explain the disk image concept in plain english? When I install programs I don't want to see the annoying disk image icon on my desktop.

How do I get rid of it? Why do some applications not install the disk image and others do? Once my application is installed what setting must I change to rid my desktop of virtual disk images??:confused:

Sincerely,
    Clueless Newbie

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

DMGs or disk images are a common way of letting you see what you're installing before actually putting it in with your other applications. They act as an intermediate medium.

Generally there is either an installer or an entire app inside the DMG. For the former, double click and select to install in your Applications folder. For the latter, drag the icon of the app to your Applications folder. In both instances, you should then drag the disk image and the file it came from (the downloaded file) to the Trash to get rid of them.

Don't run apps from inside the DMG. :)

3. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

Duff-Man

Duff-Man says....these disk images are actually a good way to distribute software. The idea is that after the disk image mounts, you drag the program to your applications folder, or run its installer if it has one. Once that is done you just eject the disk image (drag its icon to the trash, or right-click/control+click and choose eject). There is no need to always have these icons on your desktop - only to install the program. After that you can store them where you want to in case you ever need to reinstall, or delete them if you prefer....oh yeah!

4. UWF404 thread starter macrumors regular