Installing hard drives

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by maniac330, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. maniac330 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Montpelier
    #1
    I'm trying to install a new Western digital Caviar hard drive into my G5, but the system won't recognize that it is connected. Could it be that there is some sort of driver i need to install before it will work?
     
  2. maniac330 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Montpelier
    #2
    Also, I'm trying to install osx 10.4 and i don't have any other hard drives in the computer. I do have an old hard drive which has 10.4 on it if that helps anything.
     
  3. pengu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Diddily Daddily...
    #3
    is the drive detected by Disk Utility?

    what model is it?

    is the power/SATA connected properly?
     
  4. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #4
    The question is, is it a SATA2 drive? and if I remember correctly on the G5's it's regular SATA which could explain why its not seeing it unless you use a jumper on the hard drive to set it to SATA 1.5 speeds for it to pick up.

    As I had this same problem on the PC with a SATA2 drive.
     
  5. pengu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Diddily Daddily...
    #5
    that COULD be the problem, but i beleive it depends largely on the "generation" of hdd. ie, a recent sata2 should work fine.

    I recently put a WD 500GB SATA2 16MBCache drive into my 2004 G5 and it worked flawlessly first time.
     
  6. maniac330 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Montpelier
    #6
    I honestly don't know what the disk utility is. Sorry i'm really new to macs. I would like to ask if you remember the jumper setting you used on your G5. Right now I have pins 5&6 jumpered which puts it in "SATA 150MB/s" mode. The top of the hard drive also says to jumper pins 1 and 2 for "spread Spectrum Clocking". Is that something i should try?
     
  7. maniac330 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Montpelier
    #7
    By the way, can i check the disk utility with no hard drive installed? If so, How?
     
  8. pengu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Diddily Daddily...
    #8
    how are you determining that it "doesnt work" are you booting from CD/DVD?

    if so, from the Utilities menu, choose Disk Utility. it should list the drives (including the DVD/CD drive) on the left, with details on the right.

    what shows up there>
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    You'll need to use Disk Utility to give the drive a partition map and format it (HFS+ Journalled). It won't show up in the OS X installer until you've formatted it.
     
  10. maniac330 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Montpelier
    #10
    Thanks for the advice, I had no idea. So how do i access the disk utility to format the drive? I'm used to just seeing the installer start automatically.
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    As pengu said, you choose it from the Utilities menu (in the Installer).
     
  12. maniac330 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Montpelier
    #12
    Thanks guys, That did it. the drive is finally showing up.
     

Share This Page