installing iTunes/iPod updater at work

Discussion in 'iPod' started by memphismac, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. memphismac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #1
    I'm trying to help out a co-worker with her new iPod (actually, my old one as I am upgrading to 60GB) on her Windows XP Professional Dell.

    The company we work for seems to have tightened restrictions on the computer and it won't let me launch either the iPod updater or the iTunes installer, both .exe files.

    Not being a super-knowledgeable PC guy anymore, I come here looking for answers.

    Is there a way to install at least iTunes on her work PC? (I can re-format and update the iPod from her home computer).
     
  2. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    Hmmm. If it's company policy, then maybe you should leave it? Does she not have a computer at home she can use instead?
     
  3. feakbeak macrumors 6502a

    feakbeak

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    You should probably not try it since your employer seemed to have gone out of their way to prevent you from doing it.

    However, I work with software installations and corporate IT software every day as a programmer, so I'm always curious to see if you can beat the system. What error were you getting? Do you know what type of IT management software your company uses to enforce such policies?

    The iTunes installation is a Windows Installer MSI file wrapped in an executable. When iTunes for Windows first came out, I cracked into the install to get a good look at it. I was able to hack it so that I could install it on Windows 98... but it didn't "run" so well. :)

    The Windows Installer service can easily be locked down to prevent you from installing these packages. Plus, there are many tools that can prevent just about any .EXE from running. We make a tool like this at my company.

    There are one or two registry hacks that might let you get around the Windows Installer restriction (if that's what they are using). But chances are you don't have permissions to change those registry keys anyway.
     
  4. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #4
    I cant understand having iTunes at work really! Wanna listen to tunes - use the ipod!? If you did install it would she then spend days putting her CD's into the machine and ripping them?!
    It's pretty hard to get around this as far as i know.
     
  5. feakbeak macrumors 6502a

    feakbeak

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    I have iTunes at work, but not for music really. I use my iPod for listening at work, but I have iTunes installed so that it automatically mounts as a disk so I can easily transfer files between work and home for when I do work at home.

    I'm glad I'm a programmer and that our company allows programmers to have unmanaged PCs. Woohoo... anarchy! :)
     
  6. feakbeak macrumors 6502a

    feakbeak

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Oh in case you want to break the rules and try to install iTunes here are the registry keys that allow Windows Installer to run all installations with elevated privileges.

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Installer\
    AlwaysInstallElevated=1

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Installer\
    AlwaysInstallElevated=1

    I'd bet money you won't be able to set/change those registry keys due to permissions, but you can give it a shot. If you can set those keys then you'll be able to install any Windows Installer package after that.
     
  7. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    Also, you MAY be able to extract each individual file from the .exe/.msi...
     
  8. feakbeak macrumors 6502a

    feakbeak

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Location:
    Michigan
    #8
    That's a good idea in theory. Once you get the MSI out of the EXE it is easy to extract all the files out. An MSI is a simple database format that is documented on Microsoft's site. In fact, running msiexec.exe (the main Windows Installer executable in the system directory) with a /a switch and the iTunes MSI passed in will run an administrative installation and will extract all the files out. However, installations are far more complicated on Windows than Macs. I don't mind so much, gives people like me a job! :) You can't just copy the extracted folders/files to a PC and have it work.

    You would have to know where to put all the files and you'd still have to configure the registry, setup Windows Services for the iPod Helper, register COM their objects, setup the file associations etc... and you don't have permissions to do all of that manually, I guarantee it. iTunes for Windows is a fairly complex program.

    I wish I understood OS X half as well as I know Windows. Well, I've only had the mini a short while, I've got time. OS X is easier to use in many ways and I do what I want, but understanding what's under the hood seems more hidden away on a Mac than on Windows. That's probably good for general consumers, but harder for people trying to really understand the low-level stuff.
     
  9. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #9
    Thats why viruses are easy to make for Windows!

    Once the files are extracted then he/she can look on the home computer and search for the file name and check them - whereever it pops up, thats where it goes...

    Stuff for the registry is hardest but can still be done easliy.

    Sure, it may not work as well but it will work...
     
  10. memphismac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #10
    I'm not going to do anything too wild or crazy - I just wanted to see if there was something easy I was missing. I'm not a big fan of IT restrictions that tight, but I understand that a lot of people run .exe files without thinking/knowing.

    I hate that she won't be able to use iTunes at work, but she does have 6-pin Firewire at home that will make it much easier to use the 3G iPod.

    I guess we'll both just have to settle for a set of speakers and the iPod.
    Which is better than no iPod at all.
     
  11. memphismac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    #11
    UPDATE:

    Looks like it's not an XP thing, but a Novell network management thing. I'm still running Win 2000, and I got the same little message when I tried to run the iPod setup application (just got a 60GB photo last night).

    Fortunately, I already had iTunes on this machine.
     
  12. mediumrare macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #12
    Do Not Disconnect!!!

    Is there a way to get an ipod to charge on a computer without itunes without the DO NOT DISCONNECT rendering the ipod unusable? I want to use my ipod at work without wasting the battery, but don't want to spend $30 on an AC charger. That I think is the main reason people would want itunes at work.
     
  13. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    You must have disk access turned on and so it's mounted as a data drive (or trying to) in Windows just eject the device after you connect it to the machine using the disconnect icon in the system tray and be on your way.

    B
     
  14. mediumrare macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #14
    hmm

    hmm well I tried that before but thought it wasn't charging after being ejected because the ipod battery indicator (5g) didn't indicate it. perhaps it actually is charging but it isn't detected by the battery indicator? although, it is turning itself off automatically when it's not being used still. I haven't had an ipod long, but I think I remember when it's attached to a power source and charged and not being used, it perpetually displays a big battery charged icon. or perhaps that is only when it's connected to a computer w/ itunes. that's probably wishful thinking huh? and even if it actually is charging, is it still charging after shutting itself off?

    I've also tried ejecting it by right clicking...eject on the assigned drive, but it just gives me an error message, saying it some files or folders "might" be in use.

    well I guess monday when I come in I'll be able to tell for sure after a few hours. I'm outta here in 20 min!!! =)

    oh, and the computer's running windows 2000 service pack 2 if that makes any difference
     

Share This Page