Installing Java

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DanielJ, May 12, 2006.

  1. DanielJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #1
    I'm not sure I understand what's happening when I download Java. It appears to install it as a disk drive on the desktop that disappears when I eject it. I have no idea what this means... but I can't figure out how to just get Java to operate as an application.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    ? Java isn't an application. It's a programming language/runtime environement. Other applications are written in Java and depend on it...
     
  3. DanielJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #3
    Okay, thanks.... but I still don't understand - why does Java have to appear as a disk drive on my desktop?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    It should already be installed. Which OS version are you using? If you open Applications->Utilities->Terminal and type in:
    Code:
    java -version
    then hit return, what shows up?
     
  6. DanielJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #6
    Thanks, both of you, for your help... I appreciate it. Forgive me for being such an ignoramus - I just turned on my new iBook for the first time last night. :eek:

    Still learning a lot, of course...

    Well, what happened was I tried to open a Realplayer video (Realplayer already installed) and a dialogue box came up saying that I needed a Java component and that it couldn't be downloaded. So, I went to Apple and downloaded Java myself... After that, the Realplayer videos worked (I tried removing what I downloaded from the desktop and after that they would not play). So, now I have this "disk" on the desktop...

    I ran what you asked, jsw, and this is what came up:

    Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.4.2_09-232)
    Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.4.2-54, mixed mode)

    I'm also running whatever is the latest version of Mac OS X.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Did you get this from Apple? That's not the current version of Java... Java 5 is preferred now, so the build should be 1.5.0_06....

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=194768&highlight=java+update

    I guess it could be, though, that if you have a *very* recent Mac, it only came wth Java 5, and this application is requesting the older version of Java (a Java application can request to be run on a previous Java version). And you didn't have 1.4.2, and so the OS couldn't accommodate the request...but that's strange. I'd think Macs are being shipped with both 1.4.x and 1.5.x right now....
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    Actually, RealPlayer might prefer the 1.4 version for the plugin.

    Anyway, if all you want to do is remove the "disk" from the desktop, just select it and hit ⌘-E to eject it (or File->Eject "whatever") and it'll go away. I'm assuming that you dragged something off the disk image... I don't think just opening the *.dmg (disk image file) and then seeing the resulting "disk" would have allowed RP to see what it needed to see, so you installed something or moved files off that disk, right?
     

Share This Page